You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit 'Smack-down' analysis - Flag usage: September 2017 - February 2018

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Thank you as always for compiling these things @abh12345; it's something I would never do, but I love to look at the analysis overall and try to put a 'human' spin on the numbers.

If it's safe to assume that the flags increase with new users, then the work that, for example, we are doing with @newbieresteemday, is very valuable. If we can continue catching new folks in our nets before they unknowingly do a faux pas, then that is time very well spent. The hope is that they will take their knowledge and pass it on to others. The bigger hope is that we are creating a continually changing, selfless foundation here.

I want to focus on unknowingly for a moment as well; not long ago, a fellow with a reputation of 25, commented "cooperate please" on my post. After teaching ESL for years, I assumed he was doing the "I upvote you, you upvote me business". He got a few jabs from others on my page, but I decided to go to his page to see his work, which by the way wasn't bad. So I left a comment, and his reply was the same kind of nonsense. I thought about writing him off then and there, but didn't. I instead wrote a lengthy comment explaining why his behaviour was in poor taste. He eventually thanked me profusely and came back to my post and apologised to the other guys there too.

I'm a firm believer in second chances; not third and fourth ones. I also think there are a lot of new people here who honestly just don't know any better, and if we are all in this together, I think it's all of our responsibility to teach others, or at the very least, give them an opportunity to improve.

I'm not naive enough to think that all the abuse here is unknowing; in fact, I know the exact opposite, But if we can focus on the newcomers, perhaps when they become "old-comers" (yes, I know that's not a word;), we won't have the selfish abuse.

Ideal and optimistic I know. But that's the way my head dreams!

One final thought; when people flag, I guess there's no where that a "reason for the flag" is also documented? It would be an interesting table/chart to analyse as well.

Geez, this is starting to look like a @davemccoy comment haha I'll leave it at that; thanks again for the post, and of course for reading all of this :)

Cheers!

Sort:  

When I saw this comment as I scrolled down I immediately thought Dave was here again! :D

Knowledge is key with regards to some of the flags, but I think the largest % of flags come to counter blatant abuse.

It's very mindful to give 2nd chances, and it worked really well in your example - well done you!

Sadly there is no where to give a reason, although the main counter-abuse accounts are probably very grateful for this - they are already reaching limits with regards to how many flags(votes) they can issue in a day, and so bandwidth worries would make their job even tougher!

Have a great weekend!

haha commenting like @davemccoy...I'll take that as a compliment ;)

Thank you for your kind response, and yes "sadly" is right. It would such useful information as well as a possible deterrent.

Have a great weekend as well!~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66548.53
ETH 3594.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91