You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem: Is the 'recovery_account' a guide to how engaged a new account is likely to be?

in #utopian-io6 years ago

I'll start with a question. I would like to know the recovery option for an account created using bloctrade or any other account creation routes that does not require email in the account creation process.

About the account created via Steem which is free, I have read through your assumptions and I'll say they are mostly in support to why these accounts are inactive. In addition, could the fact that these accounts were created for free contribute to the lazy attitude of the account owners? Maybe the fact that other routes require you made some payments might contribute to the activeness of these accounts.

Steem recently added the option for paid accounts creation. I'm thinking that when we have quite a number of users here that we can compete with some other social media platforms, Steem will likely removed the free account creation.

I have onboarded about 100 new users since I join in January, I have noticed that those I got to pay for the 10steem account creation seems to be more active than those I got to use the free Steem account creation method.

Sort:  

Hey

The recovery account for an account created via 'blocktrades' is blocktrades. You can do this via the website. Alternatively, you can change the recovery account (as has been done by 55 accounts in this dataset) to be an existing account.

In addition, could the fact that these accounts were created for free contribute to the lazy attitude of the account owners?

I would agree with that. Nothing lost, and nothing gained.

I'm thinking that when we have quite a number of users here that we can compete with some other social media platforms, Steem will likely remove the free account creation.

That's possible. It may not be liked by some, as not all can afford to 'pay to play', but i suspect it would put a good dent in the amount of spam/abusive accounts created.

... I have noticed that those I got to pay for the 10 steem account creation seems to be more active than those I got to use the free Steem account creation method.

Some data to back up your theory above, nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41