WHAT IS YOUR PURPOSE?

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Almost every week people tell me they are looking for purpose in life. In one of my presentations i ask, "what is your purpose?" There is usually an overwhelming response that says in one way or another. "I don't know!" And yet one of the driving forces of human beings is a need to know why they are here.
meditation-2091879__480.jpg
Image source


When I ask the question, "what do you plan to accomplish in your lifetime?" I'm really asking, "what is your reason for living?"



Personally, I've asked the same question of myself, "@krehss, what is your purpose? What are you trying to accomplish in life?" Now over some years, I know my purpose very well. I'm well aware of what I intend my life to accomplish. My purpose in life is the same as God's purpose for me.
car-1967698__480.jpg
Image source


When God created us, He had two purposes in mind for us. These are demonstrated so vividly in the story of the woman of the well. This woman was looking for Her purpose in all the wrong places: five husbands and one sugar daddy. She must have been desperate Jesus clarified His purpose for Her. He told Her His intention was to give Her life meaning and substance by offering Her living water for Her soul, so She would never have to thirst again.


runner-555074__480.jpg
Image source

And Jesus demonstrated this same purpose to the crowd that came to Him. While the crowd was coming, the disciples tried to encourage Jesus to eat because they knew He was hungry. But instead of eating, Jesus revealed to them His purpose for His life when He said,

My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me, and to finish His work john 4:34

Well... duh... If that's Jesus purpose and we are to be like Him, it stands to reason that our purpose is to believe in Him and do what he tells us to do. How simple is that?.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not refer to or relate to an open-source repository. See here for a definition of "open-source."

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @kit.andres, I just gave you a tip for your hard work on moderation. Upvote this comment to support the utopian moderators and increase your future rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67920.11
ETH 3854.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69