Esteemapp v1.6.0 says camera cancelled and cannot upload image. Picarts camera was used to capture.

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Project Information
Repository: https://github.com/esteemapp/esteem/
Project Name: Esteemapp

Expected behavior

Esteem app supports modification of profile pictures using camera and also gives users option to select the camera they wish to use for that purpose. Using Picsart camera I expected I'll be able to modify my profile picture of cover picture and also capture a picture to upload on a post.

Actual behavior

When I use Picsart camera as means to upload a picture on a post or to update my profile/cover image, after capturing my image with the camera and upload, it requires me to crop the image. To crop the image I decided to use my device default crop tool and immediately that option is clicked I get a toast message Camera cancelled cannot load image

How to reproduce

  • launch esteemapp
  • login with steemit details
    Uploading pictures to a post with the picarts camera or update profile/image will produce same result.
  • on the home page click pencil icon on bottom right of the screen
  • on the post box click the picture icon to upload picture
  • select capture picture
  • use picsart camera
  • capture an image with the camera
  • click the forward icon below the picture to upload
  • a prompt to crop picture will pop up
  • crop with device default crop tool and bug will occur.

This was also tested with another camera app Freedcam

Test Enviroment

  • Software version: v 1.6.0
  • Device: Tecno Camon CM
  • Operating system: Android 7.0

Recording of the bug

Proof of Work Done

This is the link to my github account

Sort:  

Thanks for contributing to Utopian!

This is not a bug. The expected behavior you provided is not the behavior the app should produce.

The picsart app is an instagram like application. It is not a camera app - it's image editing one. It's photo capturing capabilities goal is to enable you to import pictures into the picsart photo sharing platform.

I'll quote something I commented on similar contribution just 21 hours ago:

I was able to reproduce the bug on my 5.1 phone.
The thing is, I kept looking for apps in my devices that allowed me to use external camera app to capture images. And each and every application that allowed, gave me the option to use Picsart, and lo and behold, none of them can really use Picsart to take pictures... More than that, most of the time, Picsart itself shows me an error saying "something went wrong". Thus I conclude this is not a bug, but misuse of the apps.

Have using picsart as external camera source, in any app that allows that, ever worked? It doesn't. So, is it a problem with all the apps that allow it, or it might be a problem with Picsart? The thing is, Picsart is not open source project (It's a funded startup), so bugs found in it are not eligible for reward from Utopian.

Please delete the GitHub issue you created it is not his app that produces the error.

Next time please do a research about whether these reports are eligible for reward from Utopian, try and look at previous reviews of previous bug reports. If you did so, you would've seen my previous comment regarding Picsart bugs.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79