Access settings to see if should upvote on quickpost

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Quickpost Auto-Like Issue

As a relatively new user to Steem I was drawn to the quick post feature on the Busy mobile site as it's very familiar for twitter users.

Quick Post

One thing that really bugged me about the quickpost is that whenever you would use it, your account would automatically like the post after. I couldn't find a solution on the site so I filed this bug report.

I received a thumbs up from one of the developers so I decided to try to make the modification. The end result is not a lot of code, but it did take some time to setup the environment, try a few solutions, lint, and commit.

My original solution involved creating a whole new settings value to track this, but after creating it I found getUpvoteSetting already existed as a setting (despite not being on the settings page). This function gets the setting which controls the checkbox on the normal post page.

After finding what the original developers had done with regular posts, I was able to slim down my commit, making it the minimum change necessary to improve the end-user experience.

I plan to add this setting to the Settings page, as it isn't there now, but BonusTrack said to do so in a second pull request.

Note: Article for those who ask why I'm reputation level 0.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @kirkins I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68313.70
ETH 3663.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66