Second Contribution To Busy.org

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

So I am currently waiting for approval to my pull request but I thought I would post it now, because I can't wait for this to be added. For the last 4 hours I have written code to allow content creaters to see a word count and an estimated reading time. I saw the suggestion of using the NPM package 'reading-time'.

Hosting by Imgur

Hosting by Imgur

Edit: Update

I now added a reading time when you open a post up.

Not So Technical

So what I did is edited the code to allow people to go to their settings on Busy.org and enable Word Count. By default this option is 'off'. But once the code is approved anyone can turn it 'on' in Settings.

Settings Page With Word Count Option

Then on the line of the Select Image, there is an area telling you how many words you have written as well as an estimated reading time.

Editor with Word Count

Technical

I added the settings wordCount to the user_metadata in settingsReducer.js. On the Settings page I added a radial form for enabling or disabling the Word Count.

I added in the Editor the FormattedMessage that shows the count of words and an estimated reading time. I used 'reading-time' and the templating system to render the text. I added a float right in Editor.less to move the Word Count element to the right side.

I also added the getWordCount reducer into the main reducers.js file.

I Got The Idea From

So I read the back logs and to dos on the github page for busy.org and decided this would be easy enough. Here is the original issue post. And here is the attached photo:

Attached image from Github.com

Thank You

I will post updates in the comments below.
Thanks for reading this. And as always, have a great time till I post again,
Kenny



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Your contribution cannot be approved yet.
Please remove the banner at the bottom. See the Utopian Rules.
Edit your post as shown below:

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @kennybll I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you at 17% Power!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76