Second Contribution To Bitshares

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

So yesterday I got my second contribution added to the bitshares code base. You should be seeing it soon. So basically I took a style guide and updates the scss to reflect it.

The pages I redid was the Help pages. The old style looked like:
original.png

But the new design looks like:
new.png

I added some changes to the theme_template file. Including new styles for multiple HTML elements such as links and list items, and the table of contents.

Some trouble I had was the custom list item icons. At first I was trying the list item image property in css. But the image was too large and I couldn't resize it. So I used a background image. Weirdly enough it worked. I sized the image to 7 by 10 pixels. Then I added the padding left to the content, which moved over the text to make it look like a normal list item image.

Another thing was the table of contents ul. I wanted every ul to have that custom image, except the table of contents. So I couldn't just put it under the help-content class. So I added a class around the toc ul called help-toc. Then added custom styling.

The last thing was adding styles to a ul that's inside another ul. Basically moving the assets over, under the market pegged assets, was confusing at first. But luckily with scss this was fastly done. I just used nesting to target a ul inside a li inside a ul inside the help-toc class.

I am planning on continuing to contribute to bitshares-ui and I invite you too.

Thanks, and ttyl8r, Kenny.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Simple but elegant. Thank you for your work.

Hey @kennybll I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83