New Feature Soon

in #utopian-io7 years ago

So I just got my third contribution added to Busy.org's codebase. It won't show on busy.org until version 2.2 is released. You can see it on staging.busy.org.
image.png

Posted From Feature

You can now see where a post was posted from. If you hover over the app's name you can see the app's version. We have support for Steemit, Busy, eSteem, chainBB, Utopian, DTube, dMania, DSound, Steepshot, Zappl, and Steemkr. If you know any other apps not listed please dm kennybll on steemit.chat.

When version 2.2 is released you can see this feature on any feed, and also on an individual post.

Technical

I made a new component call PostedFrom and it parses the json_metadata for the app. Usually it comes in the form of app/0.1, ex: steemit/0.1 . Then it goes through and picks the official app name from apps.json and uses that to render a span similar to the time posted (7 hours ago). It also uses a tool tip to show the version of the app used.

It took me a little while to get the styling right. When I first commited it, the topic tag would push over if the app name was too long. So I had to add a new style that added a display of flex on the name, reputation, and topic tag to keep it all on one line.

As noted above I created a json file which has a list of apps that you can post from. I tried to get the right capitalization, but if you notice an error please contact me.

I also used FormattedMessage to allow for language support for Version: appName.

LOL

So when I was doing this I was having problems with git, or so I thought. Whenever I would try to push my local version of the code, I would see nothing happening. So I thought there was an error. But after the third try and waiting a little bit it finally worked! I figured out that it was doing the pre-commit commands in package.json. Since I also do that before even trying to commit I just used the -n parameter to speed things up.

Sorry to @fabien and sekhmet for dealing with one commit per file. Which added up to 31 commits. I would be annoyed, that's for sure.

Thanks

Thanks for reading, and as always have a great time until I post again,
Kenny



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @kennybll I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45