Utopian-io bot is being jealous of everything around?(Analysis)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io7 years ago

Since some days I have been noticing that utopian-io bot detecting some bots on my contributions.
Yes, I admit that I used other upvoting bots on my contributions because I simply didn't know that bot vote is disallowed on utopian. After I knew that rule I completely stopped sending bots to my utopian contribution posts. It made me curious, how utopian-io bot was detecting bot votes although I have never sent one.
Then I decided to go deep on the topic and come up with this analysis.

This is a screenshot from my one of the latest utopian contribution.

I was utopian detected 2 bot votes in one of my recent contributions.I looked up to all the votes I got on that post and tried to search on Utopian-io's bot list. Then I got to know these two 'votey' and 'viraltrend' are on utopian list.



viraltrends and votey are two bots listed on utopian.

I looked their profile one by one, surprisingly, they are no bot at all. They are just new profiles created this November. They have no posts, or no any updates, no any history on the wallet.


Profile of Votey

Profile of Viraltrend

In fact, I have been noticing upvotes on my utopian contribution from such accounts only. Not that 2 only but here are the other such votes on the same post.

Look profiles of some of these users.

Most of them are new profile, if not, still they don't have anything on their profile. And I think they have been using it in autopilot and earning curation rewards only.

Let's see and compare votes in my another posts:


Noticed some familiar accounts here?( familiar because they were already mentioned.)

Wait! Wait! There are more...:

Look at the number of votes and earning on this post. And I have checked all of these profiles, most of them are same as the profiles I have mentioned earlier on this post. You can check it if you don't believe me.

And this will be only increasing...

As we all know, there's a huge chance of getting high curation reward if you could upvote earlier on posts that might get popular in future.And I think most of the users are aware of that too. And there's a high chance of any good utopian contribution getting a larger reward when utopian bot upvote them. So I think people are auto upvoting every utopian posts. It is as it is so it so this trend will increase more in future and more users will surely put utopian contributors on their autovoting list.

This is nothing to do with an original contributor/ poster. So how fair it is to penalize a contributor for a reason that doesn't have to do anything with him/her?

Some Points I gathered from above analysis.

  1. Many accounts listed on Utopian-io as bots aren't bots at all.
  2. I found most of them as new accounts.
  3. If not new, still they don't have much on their profile, seems like they are in some kind of automatic upvoting game just for little curation rewards.
  4. Most of those accounts are targeting Utopian-io's post only because they must have found it beneficial.
  5. Users on steemit targeting utopian posts, leaving a small amount of upvotes to every utopian post.

.

And the conclusion

Utopian should have a clear definition of voting bots and auto-voting bots(users).
If auto votes are also a problem, then, could have found another solution. Mixing auto voters and voting bots in the same category, is it even a proper way to do it? Well, I don't think so. Correct me if am wrong but those auto voting bots( may not be bot all the time) and vote boosting bots are two different things. It seems like some profiles are added on the list randomly without looking what they are.WhenI saw the list of bots in utopian I have noticed too many autovoting profiles with voting whale bots.
When you realize most of the whale users use auto voter system.And how could we treat a vote that worth nothing to with a big whale vote?
This is nothing to do with an original contributor/ poster. So how fair it is to penalize a contributor for a reason that doesn't have to do anything with him/her?In my opinion, this is not a wise way to reward/penalize someone. Maybe we could do something to improve the bot?



Open Source Contribution posted via Utopian.io

Sort:  

You are absolutely right @katteasis I am also encountered similar issues before in my post.. I had got several upvotes from the users they don't even made a single post.. I thought it was some auto bot and i dont spare my time on researching that.. thanks for sharing such a wonderful information on that.. I have one more question how can we prevent this..??

I am also searching for the same answer at the time I'll share it if I find any solution.
thanks for reading it.
I'm glad I'm not alone here :)

mantap,jgn lupa dukungan nya..

I asked a similar question before and it seems there has been made a verdict in the form that the @utopian-io bot is not really jealous.

Yeah, I saw your article before...didn't give that much attention to it since I was new and was learning...
this way they should be adding the the profiles those are on autopilot, yes even the whale profiles too.Now I am wondering what would be the case for those profiles who already has big auto-voters? Or there will be some whitelist? Still would be too unnatural then.
penalizing bot vote worth $0.01 or even less the same way with that worth $1-$5- or more is even too unpractical.
It's just my opinion though.

I think it is impossible to stop since it is simply too complex to deal with.

The best and realistic solution to the problem you're describing is not to publish Utopian articles as long as they are under review. Right now, they get immediately transferred to the blockchain and therefore published on Steemit, where users can make the valuable upvotes (if I understand the system correctly, it is only beneficial when the big upvotes come after your upvote). In case an article only gets published after the review by the Utopian team, the bot could immediately upvote and stop the behavior.

But as I mentioned at the beginning: That's a big operation and the question is whether the cost-benefit-ratio is positive.

yes, I also believe it's hard to deal...that could be a solution too.
In my opinion listing auto voter and vote selling bots on same category is just the wrong idea.
Most of those autovoter listed there worth nothing. If it was that much necessary to list them it could have done on separate category, and a different script to check it.
or just could have leave them, since they weigh almost nothing than no. of upvotes and user has no control over them.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

[utopian-moderator]

Hi jef. This contribution does not contain any original analysis. It is invalid. It just highlights publicly available information. It took me a while to understand the rules about analysis as well. ;)

@discordiant would you tell me why you downvoted? Even Utopian admin agrees it is not a valid contribution for Utopian.io.

And what's the work of moderator and admins??
What do you think yourself, steemit cop? why you become judgemental everywhere??
And You didn't answer neither!!

Hello @katteasis I will review this post when I will have more time. What I can tell you is that we penalise every vote that is not curated (no one is reading), so we don't really care if there is a human or a bot behind it, as long as there is no curation happening.

On top of that unfortunately the Data Analysis category is meant for Data Analysis and this contribution does not really fit that category. It has been accepted already so I won't remove it, but please consider to use a different category next time. I am going to release more categories soon and this one would fit the new Suggestions category. Thanks

And we changed the bot recently so the penalisation happens on the total number of bot votes instead than on every single bot vote. Therefore making it smaller.

I will check the code then.

Thanks for your reply @elear you are resposnsible person.I simply put here because I didn't find any other category that fit. I didn't expect it to be acceptedthough. In fact I was expecting some flag from your moderators/ teams and thanks just got it.

And @littleboy, I was expecting downvote from you on this post, yes at least from you. Yes I've seen your arrogance in many other user's post too.

You flag every post when you can't talk? Or have your own view on the debate? Or simply because you added those bots to code?
Coward and arrogant as you are.
Good luck with that.

Somebody's butt always hurts..lol

so we don't really care if there is a human or a bot behind it, as long as there is no curation happening.

If it's the case you are making things more complicated here. Trying to control things that you can't actually control?
Somebody has written a very good post about this topic yesterday, you should read that.
And No offence, but a question
Are you personally paying this littleboy thing to flag every post and comments that have something to say about yout platform? Or who has different opinion than others??...

That's why I and ruah keep track of voting manipulations.

And at the present time, I am more concerned about the flag you left here.

And I think they have been using it in autopilot and earning curation rewards only.

The author himself is admitting that they are automated.

Hey @katteasis I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 3.5% Power!

Suggestions https://utopian.io/rules

  • Your contribution is less informative than others in this category.
  • Utopian has detected 2 bot votes. I am the only bot you should love!!

Achievements

  • Oh I love when we talk about data!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!
    Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80