You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anti-Abuse Initiative Weekly Update [Feb 8 -14]

in #utopian-io5 years ago

When it comes to abuse, in particular, plagiarism, we should be focusing our efforts on the clear cut cases, not meddling in the grey.

It's interesting to see the posts from @jaguar.force who I am sure has the best of intentions, but considering they were banned from the most popular art community on Discord, it doesn't sound like the efforts are being well received.

Plagiarism is defined as: "the practice of taking someone else's work or ideas and passing them off as one's own."

Art is highly subjective in itself, let alone the combination of art and plagiarism. Trying to spot this algorithmically is a false panacea in my view and I am not alone in this as I have seen from some of the comments to @jaguar.force by some of the top artists on steem.

So to summarise, it's great to have security at the door, but if you kill the atmosphere in the process, no body will want to come and boogie in steem wonderland. And our major issues are gaining and retaining users, so we should tread very carefully.

@kabir88

Sort:  

Hello @Kabir88
You know this is a community and if the community decides to do something it is done.
I do not own enforce or control anyone but myself. I can make suggestions and give my ideas. That is the extent of my ability to change anything happening in the abuse community.

Fear of the unknown will never move any one in the right direction.
The only thing that will make steem and steem apps scale is when they become scale able and now they are not! You cant blame that on the community trying to clean up criminal behavior.

I dont tread lightly anywhere I travel. I weigh over 200 pounds and my voice carries like a pa system.

I think people are drawn to organized structured things because you can know what to expect. It looks better last longer and has better value.

Here is an example of anarchy image.png

And here is good planning and guidelines followed in the same country. image.png

WHERE DO YOU WANT TO LIVE?

I think once we clean out the garbage and put a coat of paint on everything we can then open our doors for business. Right now its a rundown building and the products on the shelves have reached the "best to use date".
Time to remodel and restock the shelves if you want some new customers.

I totally get the point in regards to cleaning this place up and removing spammers and "shitposts". I am hoping to increase my delegations to SFR as I think it's an important and worthy cause.

However, considering we have limited resources, I personally wouldn't focus my energies on the grey areas of fan art and art concepts; specially when those in that neighborhood are not happy with the initiative. There is the danger of throwing the baby out with the bath water.

Just like you, I cannot make anyone else do anything. This is just my humble opinion.

As for criminality, even the original author in @jaguar.force's post admitted to their being no infringement of copyright, so what laws were broken? We also had @jaguar.force throw accusations of plagiarism at another user in a discord room, but was then unable to provide any material evidence and they were promptly banned.

Anyhow, I think abuse fighting is a tough gig, so well-done for all you do. It's really appreciated.

@kabir88

At sfr we don't deal with gray stuff much. You know that lately we have been focused on bid bot abuse and people who just post any garbage
to buy upvotes for it.

We will try to help temper jaguar.force but they have to answer to the community on their own we have no power over them.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68068.52
ETH 3873.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64