Ethtags/Dogtags ethereum DAPP: Addition of styles, Code cleanups, Backend

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, I thought that I would summarize the changes to Dogtags that I made in last two weeks. I did not have much time but I have added one of the planned features and that was customization of the dogtag, I also managed to clean up the code and make some changes to the smart contract.

Link to github and to the main site. Check it out!

Link to previous post.

Change the apperance of your Dogtag

style
You can now change the apperance of your dogtag. You can decide whether or not should the qrcode be visible, what will be the color of the background and what will be the color of the qrcode and text. I had to decide whether these choices would be saved in a link or on the blockchain, but because of the cost and efficiency, I decided against it. The data is currently stored in the link to your dogtag. I may consider adding the option to save the style of your dogtag in the blockchain in future, when gas cost lowers a bit.

Code cleanup

The whole code of the frontend has been cleaned up, there were remain of some code from my other projects and also some parts of examples, which should not really be there, so they were removed. More refactoring will be necessary, especially in the parts which rely on loaded web3.

Dogtag loads even in a browser which does not support ethereum

dogtag
Before this update, dogtags would just show a message which reffered you to metamask if you did not have metamask or did not use ethereum browser, this now happens only in parts of the DAPP which are tied to editing the dogtag, that means that you do not need an ethereum browser to view your dogtag. Test is right here.

Smart Contract

There were some small changes which I made to the smart contract, I will expand on these changes in the future, but now it is just a prototype stage. I would like to add a fully functional system which would let trusted entities verify the identity of the owner of the dogtag, you could then just check the address in the dapp and be sure that you are sending money to a real Mr. Smith and not to someone who just says he is Mr. Smith and sends you a random address. But desining such a system is rather complicate and I would like to do it right, so it will take time.

Link to the changes on github

Push this week is here.
Push last week is here.

How to test out dogtags

Dogtags are not running in the main ethereum network, yet. Instead I have deployed dogtags on the Ropsten test network, in order to try it out you will have to select Ropsten test network in metamask like this: test



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Please add a licence to your repo

There is an error in the link of your heroku instance on the readme file on github:
https://github.com/jtomes123/ethtags/blob/master/ethtags.heroku.com

A link to your previous related post would be nice.

Works great!
dogtag.png

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks for the feedback! I've fixed the readme and moved the license up from the frontend folder and I added a link to the previous post.

Hey @jtomes123 I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65