SteemMakers' website update

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

SteemMakers is a community which focuses on uniting, helping and rewarding makers and DIYers on the Steem blockchain. You can find more info about us and how to contact us on our website www.steemmakers.com.

Delays, delays, ...

The website's interface needed some tweaking and the code needed some cleanup. I was aware of it for a while but due to priorities it never happened. I kept pushing forward to allow some reviewers to keep an eye on the good content and let them add it to the database so I could spend my time on something else. By doing so I delayed the many small tweaks necessary.

I don't regret it however. Now that the feature is live it has freed up quite some of my time. It feels good to hand that over to the community and to be able to focus on other things while at the same time I have more time to actually read a lot of great contributions.

Plenty of small UI improvements

So what did change? When I look at the sourcecode before and after these tweaks I think no file was untouched. I spent most time on reworking parts of the navigation bar at the top. Can you believe we still didn't have our logo up there? I struggled most with getting the menu items aligned and even ended up resorting to posting a question on StackOverflow. The answer helped me on the way but then the mobile version got right aligned and I needed further tweaks. This is just a shortened list of what has changed UI wise (I thought of taking before/after screenshots but I was to enthusiastic to deploy and forgot):

  • Added a favicon
  • Add the logo
  • Add pages to the menu
  • Improved alignment of header and footer items
  • Form UI updates
  • ...

Code rearangements

Over time the website has been evolving quite a bit. As you move along with a project new requirements are added and new insights are learned. This requires a moment to stop and rearrange the coded from time to time. Some pieces of code were reused too much and were put in central locations. Other pieces were moved out of this central position to a dedicated spot. And some other pieces were deleted all together because they were leftover and no longer needed.

Next steps

All updates are made available on the site. There are some extra check required on the 'add post' page and there's an issue with the bot's connection to the database.

What would you like to see next?

We're currently considering several things to do next but we off course appreciate your feedback. What features would you like to see added, what are you missing, what would you like to see changed. Let us know, after all we make this for you!

Help us out

Anyone interested is free to join and help out. The code is available on Github, have a look and join us on Discord!

Utopian proof of work: GitHub commit1, commit2



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Hey @jefpatat I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.23
ETH 3482.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53