Incomplete comment showing in comments tab in profile

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Expected behavior


When I write a comment like the following Good <insert-timezone> it should be rendered in the comments tab into my profile.

Actual behavior


Writing this comment: "Good <insert-timezone>", is previewed as only "Good" in the comments tab into the profile.

How to reproduce


Doing it in your own:

  1. Go to any post.
  2. Comment the following in this post: Good <insert-timezone>
  3. Go to your profile and click in the comments tab.

Doing it by using my profile as an example:

  1. Go to my comment: Click to see the comment
  2. Now go to the comments in my profile Click to go to profile
  3. Comment is only "Good" instead of Good <insert-timezone>

Environment


  • Browser: Google Chrome Version 63.0.3239.132 (Official Build) (64-bit)
  • Operating system: macOS High Sierra

Visual Reproduction of the bug


Here is a GIF showing a visual production of this bug
commentbug.gif

commentbug.gif



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @jaysermendez I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

keep sharing, more power!

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.
Very nice finding.
At first it was steemit doesnt let you pass html tags in posts/comments. You somehow managed to bypass that by adding - Very well. @justyy check this out.
original bug here
i think they need to recheck their regex.
You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Yup! Regex was bypassed by simply adding a dash into the tag. It can lead to XSS! Thanks

I think this happens to busy.org as well...

It happens in all of them. Should I made a report for each one? Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54