Esteem vs Partiko (Clash of Steem DApps)

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Hello there, I'm back again with another post that may interest you. This time around, I will be comparing two Steem dApps - eSteem mobile app and Partiko app. I will be talking about their features, security and display. A comment on my previous post made me realise the need to do a comparison of both apps.

Repository

https://github.com/esteemapp/esteem

What are is the purpose of both apps?

ESteem mobile app is used to access both Steem and Golos blockchain, while Partiko app is used to access Steem blockhain only.

Let us now take a look at the differences between the two smartphone apps. For the purpose of this comparison, the latest versions of both Apps as found on Google playstore was used - eSteem App v1.6.0, while Partiko v1.1.0.1.

Security layer


• Screenshot showing login page for both eSteem and Partiko

When logging into eSteem mobile app for the first time, there is a caution "User credentials are kept locally on the device. Credentials are removed upon logout!" I was initially skeptical to log into the app about a year ago, until I saw some other popular Steem witnesses were making use of it.

While using eSteem app, there is also an option to use a PINCODE. This is used in order to prevent other users from accessing the app while you are not with your phone. Personally, I feel it's a really nice feature. I have many friends I Introduced to Steem, when I told them they could lock the app, they found it helpful.

On the other hand, I tried logging into Partiko app. It makes use of Steemconnect.com, which is a trusted security layer. I felt so comfortable using my active key, as posting key didn't work. The integration of Steemconnect makes me feel my keys are safe, unlike on eSteem app.

Notifications

Both apps have the notification feature. But when comparing both, I discovered Partiko's notification is quite better and faster than that of eSteem App. Partiko's notification tab on the app is also well detailed - containing all tab, mention tab, comment tab and transfer tab. ESteem app has a notification button at the top of the app. Unlike eSteem App, Partiko's notifications are not repetitive on my phone's notification bar.

Wallet (transactions history)

When you click on a user's profile on eSteem app, you find a wallet which is similar to that on Steemit.com. The app developers have fixed most of the bugs that were there before. I talked about some many months ago. Partiko app is quite different, you can't even view a person's wallet. I tried viewing the wallets of different persons, but it was unsuccessful. A profile on Partiko only shows Steem balance, Steem power, SBD balance, followers and following. Wallet transactions are private on the app, it can be seen in the notification tab, under transfers. When you click on transfers, you can only see transactions that occur after you logged into the app. That means, I can't look up old transactions.

Also, with Patiko app I was unable to transfer steem/sbd to another user. That is different on eSteem app, seems the Partiko doesn't have that feature. Makes me wonder why the app requires an active key though, when all it does only requires posting key (the only exception is it's ability to claim rewards hehe).

Vote slider


• Screenshot showing eSteem and Partiko voting slider

Vote slider is a common feature on Steem-based apps. ESteem app has the regular vote slider, which I have to long press for 2 or 3 seconds. While Partiko app has a more detailed vote slider, similar to that of busy.org. It shows a vote value corresponding to the vote weight selected.

I prefer the vote slider of Partiko over eSteem. I am more interested in knowing the amount (in dollars) I would add to a post or comment before I upvote it. That way I can adjust (increase or reduce) the vote value according to the amount I have in mind.

Text Editor


• Screenshot showing eSteem and Partiko text editor

Both eSteem App and Partiko app have text editors. One of the key features I like in Esteem app editor is missing in Partiko's editor. That is the ability to schedule posts. When I'm travelling far away (especially when visiting a rural area), I anticipate poor network conditions so I schedule some posts before I leave home. That was my secret to avoid inactivity when I joined Steem blockchain. Because that time I read writeups that stressed the need to post regularly, expecially when there are curators anticipating to read from you.

Multiple Drafts


• An old screenshot showing my multiple drafts on eSteem app

ESteem app has a multiple draft feature, while Partiko app can only store just one. This feature is quite important for a person like me that doesn't know so many html and markdown codes. Most times, what I do is copy some codes and store them in a draft. Also, I have another draft containing images I use often. Since I use eSteem app for editing my posts, I used to have a draft for each post - until it was recently cleared. The multiple drafts makes it easier for me to copy whatever I need from my old posts, since posts cannot be edited to copy codes (markdown/ html) after 7 day.

App Bonus Upvote

Most Steem dApps have upvote rewards for persons using them. ESteem and Partiko both offer upvotes to it's users while using different systems.

ESteem app upvotes posts randomly, while Partiko app uses a point system. I really like the point system Partiko uses, it promotes user engagement. I get points for checking in daily, writing a post/ comment and upvoting a post/ comment. Before I forget, I got 3,000 points as bonus when I downloaded Partiko App. Currently, my 3,030 points could get me a $0.2 upvote on a post.

Here is an image showing how to earn Partiko's points:


• Partiko's point system

Extras


• Image showing eSteem app's extras

Let's look at some complimentary services they offer. On eSteem app there is a night mode feature, which makes the app a fantastic choice at night. I prefer to use night mode once the day is getting late, so the light my screen emits is regulated. Also, on eSteem app settings you can choose to view/hide images. This is a fine option for me when I am running out of data to access the Internet. For places with high Internet costs, this feature will be beneficial since it is economical.

Partiko app doesn't have the night mode feature nor the ability to view/hide images, but it has a better display. Partiko app really looks sleeky and more responsive than eSteem app. ESteem needs to work on these areas for a better user experience.

If you have contributions or questions regarding this writeup, you can leave them as comments. Cheerio!

Official links

eSteem App
Partiko App

Series Backlinks

What I think about eSteem App

Extra

Do you have a 2GB RAM PC, but still want to enjoy a decent gaming experience? Or you just wanna do a game throwback? All you have to do is check 2GB RAM games available for PC download.

Sort:  

This was a very fine comparison overall. Quite comprehensive. I would have liked to have seen a bottom line, though. Here's what I gleaned from the post, and I'd be interested in knowing if that was your overall feeling as well: eSteem has more comprehensive features, whereas Partiko executes its features better. Making the choice reliant on whether you need the wallet, scheduling, and multiple drafts options eSteem offers.

I would also point out that the post had some issues of style and grammar, which I would be happy to give examples of in a follow-up comment if you wish.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

I don't know how that escaped me, I should have left a bottom line. I quite agree with your conclusion, thanks for the addition.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 2 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Great comparrison. I keep meaning to put the partiko ap on my phone (as I never get notifications when other's mention me, so that is sort of bad Steemit etiquette on my part) but now I'll have to consider both.

Yeah, having a steem app could really do you some good. Partiko has a better notification system, I explained this in the post.

Glad to see you around.

A well detailed post bro on the difference BTW esteem and partiko app. Though I have never used any of the apps before. But thanks for the enlightening post

Thanks Ken. It's been a really long time since we last interacted. Would suggest you check them out.

Yah. It's really been Long. I even went on a very long break, and saw you did the same, though I was surprised. But nonetheless welcome back and steem on.

I will surely check them out

Hey! @kenadis
Get the brand new app on steem named 1ramp.
You can download it here:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.hapramp

Hi @jaff8!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 18 SBD worth and should receive 200 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hey @jaff8
I would like you to take a look over 1ramp app which a steem based app for creative community exclusively.
You can download it here and use it:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.hapramp

You can write comparisions for this app vs other steem apps.

Okay, I'll do. I downloaded the app recently. Is there a way I can reach you?

yes please join our discord server https://discord.gg/kcvzHzx

Hey, @jaff8!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43