You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Gridcoin mining experiment - will the crash have influence

in #utopian-io6 years ago

I dont think there is a reason to see a change because the crash. First, most people are interested on grc more for science than profit, second, those who are interested have actually no reason to try luck with another crypto, since all of them are dropping hard, third, at the time of writing, grc is skyrocketing in cmc.

Sort:  

most people are interested on grc more for science than profit

Don't compare our intentions with everybody else's. The crash might have scared a lot of newcomers, or maybe not. If people were only doing it for science then why has BOINC contribution raised so much since gridcoin. I don't know if it will influence, and I don't know if such thing happens it will be visible on VGTU. Just saying it is something to keep an eye on. I wouldn't call it skyrocketing, it's just recovering.

But then again, your guess is as good as mine.

Cool experiment, thanks for sharing!

On the subject of seeing changes with the crash, my guess is that projects like VGTU will see more of a hit than a project like Einstein or SETI. I say this because Einstein and SETI have a more universal appeal, and I think people are more likely to run them purely for fun. VGTU, while absolutely a good science based project, is a little harder (for me) to get excited about. Their current project is grillage optimization, which I doubt many non Civil Engineers care much about. This would perhaps be an interesting thing to track.

Looking forward to seeing more!

VGTU is a special case indeed. For this experiment it is important to only have one fixed task, fixed version and CPU only. And of course I can't switch now or it has to start all over. I have spent a lot of manual work in this data gathering so I prefer not to switch ;-)

Just to be clear, I wasn't saying you should switch, I was just idly speculating. Keep up the great work!

I didn't misunderstood you, I was just clarifying ;-)

The crash was generalized, and we can assume people will come back. What i meant is that is not pointless electricity waste, but is doing science, so a lot of people will be active even if it is for very little profit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33