You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Particle physics on Steem - let’s start coding on the MadAnalysis 5 platform

in #utopian-io6 years ago

I think I was under the impression that the two regions where

  • region 1: |η| < 1.44
  • region 2: 1.57 < |η| < 2.5

But if I understand you well, that is not correct.
Rather there should be one region for low pTmiss, and one region for high pTmiss.
Is this correct?

I am not too sure to follow on this one. Can you please elaborate?

Sorry, I wasn't being very clear.
Is it possible for one photon of a diphoton to be detected in the barrel, and the other photon to be detected in the end-cap?

Sort:  

I think I was under the impression that the two regions where

region 1: |η| < 1.44
region 2: 1.57 < |η| < 2.5
But if I understand you well, that is not correct.
Rather there should be one region for low pTmiss, and one region for high pTmiss.
Is this correct?

Now this is correct. You have to check whether there are two photons, and that each of them satisfies one of the two pseudorapidity requirements :)

Is it possible for one photon of a diphoton to be detected in the barrel, and the other photon to be detected in the end-cap?

Yes. This is totally possible. The relative configuration of the two photons can a priori be anything.

OK, great. Thanks for the clarifications!

I think I have finished the diphoton channel.

Should I create a new program for the di-tau channel, or do you want both analysis to be done in the same executable?

Congratulations! Both in the same program is better (one just need to add new regions). This will make things easier later.

OK, I must confess I didn't find the time yet to start working on the tau channels...
Worryingly it looks a bit more difficult to understand than the diphoton channel. :-(
I'm hoping to get started soon but I may or may not have finished by Friday.
I'll do my best.

Hi @lemouth,
In section 5.1, there some formula to calculate the isolation of leptons.
I don't understand the following:

... the sum of transverse momentum of charged hadrons not associated with the
primary vertex ...

What is the "primary vertex"?
How do I calculate the isolation components for the "primary vertex" and "non-primary vertex"?

Thanks!

Unfortunately, this is something to be ignored. The closest we can be is to simply calculate the ingredients to the isolation variable as usual (i.e. as explained in my previous posts). It works very well, from my own experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78