You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Particle physics @ Utopian-io - Designing an LHC search strategy for unraveling new phenomena

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Hi, trying to work on this early as I'm soon on holiday.
I have a bit of an issue because at the moment none of the events in the sample file seems to meet the Ptmiss > 170 requirement.

As per your instruction the code is as follows:

  if(!Manager()->ApplyCut(
    event.rec()->MET().momentum().Pt() > 170,
    "pTmiss"))
  {
    return true;
  }

Am I being wrong about the check?

Thanks!

Sort:  

No, the sample is not very appropriate for this analysis. It consists in the production of a pair of top quarks with a Higgs boson. This is miles away from dark matter ;)

Ok that makes sense.
So do you have any sample to run the code against or should we just provide code that compiles?

I will generate a relevant sample, hopefully tonight or tomorrow. That is a very good idea!

Hi @lemouth,
I have posted my solution for exercise 1d.
I know I haven't had a chance to test it against a sample file but I'm going abroad in a couple of days which wouldn't give me much time to apply any correction to the code.

So at least the code is available for review if you have the time.
I hope that's OK.

Cheers,
Olivier

I will try to do my best to provide you a test sample tomorrow. Not too sure if I will manage, but I will try. I will review the code in any case :)

When will you be back?

I'll be back on the 30th of July. Leaving this Friday. Not sure yet if I take my laptop with me.
I have this urge to write at the moment.
That might be a problem with my wife though. 😉

Don't worry, I will still be there at your return. Please take your time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65885.06
ETH 3440.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65