Calling Moderators: Input for Contributor Etiquette Content

in #utopian-io7 years ago

paper-535969_1920-02.jpeg

I have an idea for the Utopian Help Center: to include some sort of content that informs contributors of the expected behavior in the Utopian community. Something that lets them know the values that Utopian upholds, what the community frowns upon and how they can maintain a good reputation on the platform.

I called this Contributor Etiquette.

Now, since moderators are the ones who interact with contributors on a regular basis, I figured they would have a better understanding of the issues faced on the platform, with regards to etiquette. That's why this task request is made specifically for moderators. If you're not a moderator, your input is also welcome. The more input I get, the richer the content we will make.

I'm asking for ideas on what to include in the content, the tone to use and anything else that you think will help. I will collate all contributions and merge them into one final document.

Also, if you want to write and submit some of the actual content we can include, just write it under the Copywriting category and I'll also include it in the final document.

I'm looking forward to all the ideas and input I'll get from this. This is my first task request on the platform so pardon any mistakes on my part. I think it's a good idea to include published text with etiquette guidance for Utopian contributors; do you think it's a good idea?

Feel free to let me know.


Visit the Utopian Help Center's GitHub repository to see the project.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @imwatsi, Great to see you flying in the Steem world. You've come a long way since being minnowmentored!!!

It might be I have misunderstood a little bit, (which could possibly be part of the point of your post, that when we write text, we only really communicate using around 7% of our human communication resources) but I think I may well be working on a project at the moment which is somewhat similar, and it may have some interesting stuff which we can both use. I haven't publically announced what's going on, but I can tell you that it's really exciting and our little band of merry men have caught the attention of Steemit, and we've had a great conversation (which we published) with @andrachy.

So, I'm wondering if it might be worthwhile you and I having a chat at somepoint, perhaps on Telegram or Discord.

Im in Iceland at the moment, back on wednesday, so it might be worth waiting till after then, but I think we could possible help each other out. Let me know what you think dude.

Sure thing @anarcotech .. Telegram will be great... I'm watching your conference call now (found it on your blog)

I setup a temporary username on Telegram:

https://t.me/temp1010

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @imwatsi I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

I think it would be better to set a work schedule for moderators. sometimes contributors expect interaction from readers with their work right away or at least in the same day. the way moderation works now, make it hard for a contribution to be reviewed in the same day which results in a delay. Contributors may not be available to answer questions 48 hours after their submissions, or they will completely forget about it. I suggest that moderators should be given a specific number of hours to work so this way the number of contributions processed will increase daily.

I can help in moderation by checking the content for Plagiarism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83