OpenShot - The Free Open Source Video Editor DTubers Should Know About

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Repository

https://github.com/OpenShot/openshot-qt

Introduction

If you have ever had to edit a video you might have faced one of the following issues

  • The video editing software you use have a not very intuitive interface
  • The video editing software you want is expensive

I know it because I have faced it, I was once a Youtube content producer, and now I produce content for DTube.

OpenShot has a simple and intuitive interface, but a video editing software is not just about how it looks, but how it works. And here comes another very important aspect of Openshot, it is fast! I have tried other open source video editors but not all of them are as fluid as Openshot.
Plus, if your computer is not fast enough to render, you can rent a cloud API to render videos for you, more on that below

Multi operating system is another plus for this software. I have started searching for a simple and open source video editing software because shortly after joining Steem I have realized I wanted to stay closer to open source communities, so I switched my main operating system from Windows to Linux (Elementary OS, based on Ubuntu), making my editing software knowledge obsolete because the tools I was using were not available for Linux, but Openshot saved my life and is what I use, literally, daily to edit my DTube videos (I am not a very good editor though, so if you watch my videos keep in mind I don't use all the editing power this software gives me)

Getting Openshot

You can get the software for free for any desktop operating system you have, no matter if it is Windows, Mac or Linux, if you make videos I would recommend you to give Openshot a shot (sorry for the pun) and see how well does it work for you
https://www.openshot.org/

Features

Openshot has a lot of features as you can see from the list found on their website mentioned above

But the main ones, in my opinion, and why I care so much about those features are

  • Multilanguage: I speak 3 languages, and I have friends that are native in all of them, so when they ask me what editing software I use/recommend I always recommend Openshot first because I know it will have support for their language, and whatever is your main language, chances are openshot have you covered

  • Trim and Slice: More down on the post I teach you how is my video editing process, but Trim and Slice is VERY useful, when I am silent for a few seconds on the video or a loud noise appears I know I can just cut it

  • Cross platform: As I have said, I always recommend Openshot for my friends because, other than language coverage, I know whatever desktop operating system they use they are supported. It was frustrating when I changed my operating system from Windows to Linux and suddenly all of my (short) experience on editing was completely lost, I know this won't happen again with my experience on Openshot

  • Title editor: Not every video editing software I have used had a simple title/subtitle generating tool, but on openshot there is literally a tab right at the home screen for you to create titles, this is very helpful to add extra information on the videos

How is my workflow with Openshot

snap.jpg

This is the main page of Openshot, my workflow is not complicated, all I need to do on my videos is cut out silent parts, sometimes join different clips together, sometimes add a text message on the video frame or add a floating screenshot (Picture in Picture), so, here is how I do everything

How I slice one clip in two


How I add text (Picture in Picture)

How I add images above the video (Picture in Picture)

Export in the main video formats

Another important thing is being able to choose the video format and quality I want to export, Openshot allows me to chose the exact format and more advanced setting, personally I always render on MP4 to keep a good balance between quality and size

Yes, other video render softwares have more options to render, but honestly, I have never rendered anythin in WMV for example, as it is not a worth format to export clips at for being heavyweighted and not offering a video quality improvement that justifies the extra size of files.

Cloud editing!

Now, this is a feature that, if you have to edit many, heavy or long videos, will make all the difference!

Openshot has a cloud API that allows us to launch an Amazon AWS cloud intance to render our videos for us, doing the heavylifting work for your computer
https://www.openshot.org/cloud-api/

Resources

Openshot website
https://www.openshot.org

Openshot Cloud API
https://www.openshot.org/cloud-api/

Tutorials and video presentations
https://www.openshot.org/videos/

User guide
https://www.openshot.org/user-guide/

Sort:  

Hello, @igormuba!

Thank you for your review. Your post is comprehensive, informative and well-illustrated with quality screenshots. Well done!

On the content side, I like all the information provided. You gave a succinct analysis of the project's features that are deemed to be of great importance, and you also managed to make this post personal by sharing your own knowledge, views and experience as a video content creator. Keep up the good work.

That said, there were minor punctuation issues, but not to the level where it hurt the reading experience. You did a good job, and I appreciate the effort you put into your work.

I look forward to your next contribution.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @lordneroo! Keep up the good work!

Hey, @igormuba!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44