Openshot Series - It Gives You The Freedom To Fail, And That Is Awesome(Part 5)

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Repository

https://github.com/OpenShot/openshot-qt

Introduction

On this series, I am trying my best to show to the readers how Openshot can replace their paid video editors. I am also trying to show beginners, that might be afraid of something new, that there is nothing to worry about.

To continue the work on showing how easy the transition to Openshot is, I will share my experiences. Why did I start using it, how I started using it, and how well did it work out for me.

Spoiling it a little bit first, I can tell you already that Openshot worked great for me. I am by no means a professional video editor, though I do have some prior experience. Although, I am not biased when I say that Openshot should work for complete beginners too.

What is Openshot

Captura de Tela 20190122 às 20.19.19.png

Openshot is a free and open source video editor. It was, actually, created by a Linux user that, like myself, felt disappointed when he switched to Linux.

On Windows and Macintosh, you can, with ease, find many video editors, both paid and free. Although the free ones, from the "App Stores", often come with ads or some sort of freemium features.

To me, seems like the excess of "freemium" and low-quality apps contribute to the bad image of free software. That said, if the image you had on your mind of "free" software was that of "freemium", you can rest assured.

Openshot is not another "advertisement bloated software". There is a problem on the market with "free software" that want to squeeze your time to pay their salary with ads.

Openshot does not want your money, though they appreciate your donations. The team behind the project work on what they believe is great software. A simple interface, with great features, great performance and completely free.

How (and why) did I get started

I have found Openshot a few weeks, or days, don't remember, after switching from Windows to Linux. I wanted to start making videos for DTube (a social network on top of Steem), and for that, I had to edit them.

A little bit of my background on video editing, first. I am not a professional editor and I have never made money with editing videos. But I do have prior experience with video editing. In high school assignments that required video editing, I was the one that edited. And some years ago I did have a few "youtube projects" with a few friends and I was the editor.

That said, none of those experiences were huge, and I did not use any fancy or advanced effect for any of them. I regret, now, have paid for that software, because I have discovered that what I was doing, I could do for free!

I hope that by now you could understand, though I have prior experience, it is a shallow experience. Nothing in depth by any means.

Fast forward to a couple of months ago, I decided to switch my main operating system from Windows to Linux. I challenged myself to spend one month on Linux, and after that, I could go back to Windows.

At first, I did not care very much about the new operating system. For a developer, Linux is great, the command terminal is powerful and the filesystem is clean. Though, I felt need to produce videos for DTube. I had some ideas and some subjects that I wanted to talk about, and blog posts were not "fluid" enough. We can't express everything with written words. Sometimes we need to use our hands and facial expressions to show what we mean.

So I recorded the first video, but then I realized I could not edit it. All I wanted to do was to cut a few silent parts of the video and to add floating text.

Thus, I started searching for some editor that was compatible with Linux. Openshot was the very first editor I have found, and I have managed to edit what I had to edit.

I know my experience is not from someone that is starting fresh and as a complete beginner in video editing. I have thought a lot about it. I, of course, do not want to market Openshot as something it is not. But after reflecting for a while, I am confident enough to say that it will, indeed, work even for beginners.

It was actually designed to work for complete beginners. The ease of use is noticeable from how simple and friendly the interface looks!

I am afraid to get started

Do not be afraid to get started with Openshot. To be honest, it is not my main video editor anymore. The only reason why it is not my main editor anymore is that I prefer a flatter and less colorful interface. But also, I am lazy, if I wanted to I could "hack" the editor and change the appearance.

Talking about hacking, that is exactly why you shouldn't be afraid of an open source project. Most open source software is "hackable". That means, if there is a feature or a tool, or a different workflow, you want to use, chances are you can "add" it to Openshot!

Captura de Tela 20190123 às 22.56.43.png

Actually, there is a whole section on the user manual on how can developers contribute to the project.

If you are not an editor, and not a developer too, that is ok. You would, in this case, have to dig a little deeper on the internet, to find some add-on that implements what you want to do. Chances are high that, whatever the feature or tool you want is, someone else also wanted that in the past. And if someone else wanted that, there might be an add-on to give that to you! That is the beauty of going open source.

The freedom to fail

If, in the end, Openshot did not, in any way, worked well for you. Well, it was free, wasn't it? You can uninstall it and move on. Paid software does not give you that freedom.

Captura de Tela 20190123 às 23.17.45.png

As Mark Zuckerberg himself said in his speech to Harvard. People need to have the freedom to fail, that allows them to keep trying.

That goes beyond the extent of someone that wants to edit video for a family meeting. I am, now, talking about freelancers or "wannabe" editors that would like to get a career in video editing. I know how those people feel because, when I started the projects with my friends on Youtube, I liked editing. My knowledge was not advanced and we did not have a solid business plan, but we had passion. We did not make any money from that, but I had the expenses of the video editors to keep the channel running. In the end, the expenses of editing with paid software were one of the reasons why we have "killed" that project. Who knows what we could have done if money was not of the obstacles?

People deserve the freedom to fail, and open source projects, like Openshot, give that to them. That was my thought, considering if I should recommend Openshot for complete beginners. And the conclusion I have arrived is, yes, I should. They have nothing to lose, but all to gain, from trying something free and developed with love.

And if you do

Again, after the thought above, you understand me, when I say, there is no reason "why not to". And, if you decide to go ahead and try Openshot, I would appreciate if you report your experiences with it to me.

In other series of other software, people have, shortly, reported their experiences. And that is awesome when you recommend something and someone tries it out and tells you how well it works. I would appreciate receiving feedback, either saying the software is working for you, or it isn't, and why.

Keep in mind, though, that Openshot is free and open source. I have said that the interface is easy and intuitive and the performance is great. Openshot is that and more, but, don't expect it to compete for head to head with multi-billion dollar companies. It is still free, and it is still great. But if you keep in mind that is free and developed by volunteers, you can get even more surprised (in a very good way).

Resources

Openshot main website
https://www.openshot.org/

Download page
https://www.openshot.org/download/

Use guide
https://www.openshot.org/static/files/user-guide/index.html

Series backlinks

Beneficiaries

This post has as beneficiaries

using the SteemPeak beneficiary tool

Captura de Tela 20190122 às 16.07.11.png

Sort:  

Hello, @igormuba!

Thank you for another informative post about Openshot. As I have said several times in the past, this series is very interesting and I have learned a lot reading your work.

Once again, your post is well-illustrated with relevant screenshots. On the content side, I think that you did a really good job. Your post is full of information about your personal experience with video editing, and even contains your personal suggestions and knowledge. However, I have to admit that I wanted to read a bit more about the project itself.

That said, there were issues of grammar and style, making your text difficult to comprehend at times. Regardless, I appreciate the effort you put into your work. I look forward to your next contribution.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @lordneroo! Keep up the good work!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 128 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @igormuba!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @igormuba!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70