Esteem mobile Android app: Absurd profile behavior

in #utopian-io5 years ago

Project Information

This contribution is a mixture of suggestion and 2 in 1 bug report. More details of my explained can be found here, where I opened the issue on Github

Expected behavior

I could perform a search on esteem mobile. Which is great. I expected that if I searched for my own username, there wouldn't have been a result.
But there was, and I expected that when I clicked on the search result, my profile will open as though I'm owner of that account.

Actual behavior

After clicking on the search result of my username, my profile opened as though I was another user. The implication of this is that I can follow myself and add myself as favorite.
Normally this shouldn't be possible. It isn't though. But I got a notification that I was following myself.
Furthermore, I could add myself as a favorite author. When I refresh the page, that action is cancelled. But if I add as favorite again it works. Then reverts again.
To cut the long explanation short, the number of times I re-add my self as favourite, it registers in the favorites page.

How to reproduce

After the necessary procedures to get into the app;

  • Search for your own username on the app or you could try from a comment where you were mentioned.
  • If you used search, click on the search result
  • You will notice the first error that your profile opens up like your aren't the owner of the account
  • You will also notice that the follow button and add author as favorite button are available and clickable.
  • Click on the follow button. You should get a notification that you've have followed yourself. Which normally shouldn't be possible.
  • Click on the favorites button and check out the favorites page on the app. You'll find yourself added as favorites.
    As explained in the actual behavior segment, if you do this multiple times on your profile, it will appear the number of times you tried it. Which is also abnormal.

Screenshot of the bug.




Test environment

Device: Redmi note 5 pro
OS: Android 8.1

GitHub Account

https://github.com/HarryHeights

PS: The reason why I didn't include version number in this post is because I tested on an unofficial release of the app.
I was sent to install the app and verify if a bug I reported had been fixed in that update.
However, this issue should still be reproducible in the latest official release.
Here's the link to the version I tested on

Sort:  

Hi @harry-heightz, thanks for leaving us this contribution.

I was able to reproduce the behavior you described. I got the notifications informing me I had followed my own account (@fego). On the favorites list, the same account appeared multiple times corresponding with the number of times I clicked the favorites button.

I see this has been acknowledged by the PO

My Feedback:

  1. The actual and expected behaviors had bulky text content and could have been better worded or properly spaced to allow for an easy read. A reader should be able to tell what the issue is, at first glance.

  2. The steps were easy to follow, although one had to look through the screenshots to get an idea of what was going on.

  3. Contrary to your words, the version numbers were included in the download link you provided. In the page it was listed as version 2.0.8

In all it is a good post and a great find. We look forward to more of these :)
Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

@fego about the version number, I decided to state it in my contribution because it has not been released yet. I was only given to test. For all I know this one u tested wouldn't be the released v2.0.8. That's because other fixes are still taking place.

Yeah I understand, I just thought I should include it. But as you can see in the questionnaire, I did not use it as a parameter in grading the report

Thank you for your review, @fego! Keep up the good work!

Hey, @harry-heightz!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30