Utopian-io 3D "Dark theme" Logo

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

I recently found this awesome open source project called Utopian-io and i would like to take part in its on-going progress. First i wanted to contribute to its logo design and my vision is to show a "dark theme" look of the original design, basically a night mode version. It's in 3d so you can see a bit of depth when it comes to its form. Without further ado, I present to you the final result.



Utopian-io Logo-fn.jpg



Utopian-io Logo top-fn.jpg



Let me show you the basic process on how I came up to this logo design. The 3d software I used is 3d Studio Max with the help of Vray to render the image and then finally enhanced using Lightroom.

To begin, I made a plane (board) and then assign the original utopian.io logo as its texture or appearance [im trying not to be too technical when it comes to words, so please bare with me :-)].
02.jpg



I used the board with picture of logo as my reference to create the 3d form of the logo. And then I made a sphere model that will represent the circle of the original logo.
03.jpg



From here, I made the upper & lower lid of the logo_(i'd like to think of it as the "eye")._
06.jpg



And then, I also modeled the other curved part of the logo separately to give it more depth, similar to the original design.
07.jpg

09.jpg



For the "utopian-io" text, I traced the outline of the text shapes and then convert it to its 3D form.
11.jpg

12.jpg

Here comes the exciting part - choosing of material. I chose a metallic material that is reflective enough to capture the shin of the lighting. Since the original logo has a bluish / purple color on it, I used a type of bluish lighting that will appear on the metallic surface of the logo.

Utopian-io Logo-fn.jpg

For the "eye" (pupil), I also chose the same metallic surface and then overlay a picture of the world map which will appear to be the engraving on the surface. I'd like to show that utopian.io has a global influence and its united with the same vision.

That's about it my friends, I hope you enjoyed the process for my creation of @utopian-io 3d logo. [edited] All image & editable files (.PSD, .PNG, .TIF & .JPEG) are made available and free to use. You may download the files from the link below:

>>Updated: Files link<<



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @funtraveller I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

good work !!!

congratulations

good working brother

Thanks bro! Your work are awesome too

Thanks brother i follow you

Your contribution cannot be approved yet. See the Utopian Rules. Please edit your contribution to reapply for approval.

Can you add links to the editable files? (AI, PSD, etc) I'd appreciate if you can add a transparent logo only png image too (cause this looks great).

You may edit your post here, as shown below:

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hi Deveerei, i just updated my post and included PSD & PNG. Let me know if there are any other needed. Thanks for your feedback.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks a lot Deveerei. Happy to hear that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55