Steemnova - Popup on hovering over resource/building Names

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

New Features

  • What feature(s) did you add?

Describe briefly and add screenshots/recordings if applicable.

I added a popup that comes up when you hover over the name of a resource/building/ship etc. in the following pages:

  • Building Page
  • Empire Page
  • Officers Page
  • Records Page
  • Research Page
  • Resources Page
  • Shipyard Page
  • Spy Reports

This popup shows the icon of the according item, and it displays a short description for the item. When you click on the heading of the popup, it opens a dialog window with more infomation. This allows quicker accessing of some information if needed.

In the game there are short and long descriptions. Some of the short ones were really long, so I shortened them. For the resources there weren't any short descriptions, so I added them in German and English.

I asked a few members of the community if they could help me with translating and Djoker and mys translated the short resource descriptions to french/polish. The remaining languages have the english ones as placeholders. If someone wants to translate this, he is very welcome to do so.

Theres a video of the new feature:

  • How did you implement it/them?

Link to relevant lines in the code on GitHub and explain briefly what you added/changed.

As mentioned above, I added the new strings to the language files.
I changed language files in these commits.

I changed the .tpl files for the aforementioned pages as well. You can see these changes clearly if you look into the pull request. These contain the core of the new feature. I used the same method that is used in the galaxy page, when you hover over the image of a planet.

Lastly I also had to change the styles/resource/css/ingame/main.css, because the popups were ridiculously large before the change.

Thank you very much for reading!



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been reviewed.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io.
Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Hey @helo, I just gave you a tip for your hard work on moderation. Upvote this comment to support the utopian moderators and increase your future rewards!

WARNING! The comment below by @feriadi84 leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

I appreciate contribution.
However...
I kind of wonder, why do we even need pop-up for resource?

Yeah you're kinda right. This isn't really necessary. But once I wanted to click on the resource pictures on the top and it didn't work and then I just wanted to do this. I hope my next contributions have more value xD.
But I think this is a nice gimmick.

For fancy ;)

These popups is interesting idea. I believe they will help newbie players to understand better the game. They look trivial, but I see a lot of work done here. Translated descriptions + css style sheets + a lot of injections on nearly all of game pages.
You know there are places to make them better (highlight text etc.). No matter that good job!

Hey @flugschwein! Thank you for the great work you've done!

We're already looking forward to your next contribution!

Fully Decentralized Rewards

We hope you will take the time to share your expertise and knowledge by rating contributions made by others on Utopian.io to help us reward the best contributions together.

Utopian Witness!

Vote for Utopian Witness! We are made of developers, system administrators, entrepreneurs, artists, content creators, thinkers. We embrace every nationality, mindset and belief.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.me/utopian-io

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67