You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Learn Programming - A Beginner's Guide

in #utopian-io7 years ago

I just had a conversation with @stoodkev about this yesterday! I want to learn programming to develop for Steem and Utopian. Luckily I am already familiar with html and CSS so I can jump directly to jQuery. Would you suggest doing a video course? I usually like doing that with something professional on Udemy.com.

I would like to skip as much boring stuff as possible but that is probably difficult to dtermine what is important and what is not when you just begin.

Please continue this with more posts about various topics leading to be able to access the Steem blockchain.

Resteemed!

scipio.png

Sort:  

Thx! For your nice words and the cool "steemit @scipio approved" banner! I like it!

If you're a visual learner, learning via video tutorials is pretty good actually, because the video tutor is "showing you" what he does and explaining along the way. So yes, that might be a good approach as well.

But you learn most from simply trying to code.
For example, on php, just try to set-up a MAMP server and print the following statement inside your first "index.php" file (not .html in this case):

<?php echo "Hello I'm @flauwy-de at Steemit!"; ?>

That's something extremely simple of course, but you've built it, and that's an achievement to expand upon! Have a go at it! And greetings back to @stoodkev if you talk to him again! Cheers! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54681.92
ETH 2286.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29