Holdit: A simple cryptocurrency monitor

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Holdit: A simple cryptocurrency monitor

What is the project about?

Intro

A few weeks ago I started learning about cryptocurrency, how it works and how the market works.
Then I bought a coin with a tiny amount of STEEM, but few days later was difficult to me to see how much I win or lost, because in general, sites like coinmarketcap.com only shows the change of coins in 1h, 24h, 7d, and so on, but not in (for example) 17 days or 3 days. Also I would like to see the amount of how much I gain (loss) and not just the percentage.

The project

For that, I made a simple monitor to check how many coins I have, how much I gain/loss in the whole time (not just in fixed times) and also a simple converter.

The Table at the right shows the current data for Cryptocurrencies (the same data that you can find in coinmarketcap.com, actually, I use the API of that site)

The Table at the left shows the cryptos that you own. What coin you have (name), how many you have (amount) and how much you paid for that coin (price) (At the moment this three variables are filled manually)
Total (ETH) ATM is how much worth those 2 EOS with the current price and change how much you win or lost at the moment.

And finally, the convertor

Technology Stack

I'm using Python 3.6, PyQt5 for the GUI and CoinMarketCap's API for the data.

Roadmap

TO-DO list:

  • Improve the Hold Section
  • Add fiat money for convertion (not just USD and EURO)
  • Add some interesting links (Markets and Charts Visualizators)

How to contribute?

If you want to contribute to this project you can find me on Discord, I'm Utopian Moderator and very active in the Utopian server.


Github Repository: https://github.com/favcau/holdit
Commit: Add files via upload



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Interesting project.

Its really a great idea and your project is really interesting. It shows your hard work and dedication toward your work.
Keep Going...

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved. Would love to see if you can create something like BlockChainInfo where I will get the notification about how much my current worth it, having stop loss, how much gain I got.

Not only from CoinMarketInfo, try to add values from Binance, Bittrex, BlockTrades, which will help the user trading on that platform.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for the feedback, I will try to add what you suggest :)

Hey @favcau I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Thanks for sharing the code.

wow. Thats a really cool project. I'll follow you for more cool stuff :)

Thank you

Thats very practical and will be helpful.

For someone who is really new to crypto currencies and Steemit, this is a great idea. Keep up the good work!

Thanks :)

nice

Easy and cool method. Thank you for share!

Thank you

Very helpful tool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99