You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Suggestion for Utopia: Make approvement with a rating system

in #utopian-io7 years ago

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved. I think that it is not possible for one person to subjectively decide the quality of the post. If a human should rate the post as you suggest, then it will need more people to decide the quality rating.

There has been submitted another idea with a similar base but still different if I understand it right. You might be interested in it. It is "quite old" because the bot voting rules have been changed many times since then.

https://utopian.io/utopian-io/@littleboy/add-rating-based-rewards-funtionality-to-utopian-io

[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Since a moderator can check and approve a post manually, why cannot he or she give a rate based on the rough amount of contribution. At least this is simple for the translation category, which can be rated by the total of transportations suggested. The bot can still decide the voting weight, but taking into account the moderator’s rating. For example, if the moderator gives a rate of 1, the bot can vote no more than 5%. My suggestion is not to let one person decide the voting weight, but to give a rough range such that the bot can vote more wisely. Hope that helps. :-) Thanks!

You see, this is not a good point of view. You say that the bot should not consider the length of the post but you also say that a moderator should consider the total [translations] suggested.

There is a lot to improve but one moderator is not enough to decide it.

With your comment I think you are getting closer to the littleboy's contribution.

For posts in the translation category, the amount of work is very easy to obtain. It is pointed out in the translation platform and the author only need to provide that link. If this can be implemented, the moderator only need to check the amount of work rather than spending a lot of time reading the entire post with lot’s of less informative images. I understand that for other types of category, this is not easy to implement.

I think for the translation category, it is very necessary to introduce the rate system. Otherwise, a lot of authors will lose motivation for translation contribution. Let me give you an example. In one of my translation contribution, I finished more than 1600 translations but only got 1.6% upvote, and the other author finished less than 200 translations but got more than 25% upvote. I spent much more time (actually almost a day) than this author, but my upvote percentage is less than one tenth of his/hers. This is not fair, right? I understand there is no absolutely fair, but the difference should not be so huge. :-) Hope you understand.

And you should understand that there are other parameters for the vote too, which I can't tell you exactly but you can look it up in the repository.

It is not fair that I did not get votes for my previous posts and it is not fair that everybody is "guaranteed" to get the vote. I don't really care. If the vote hunters will post less, then it is good in my opinion. Others will see that they receive higher votes.

Ok, got it. Thanks for your patience. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57574.67
ETH 2368.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42