eSteem bug - Notification about Mention works not correctsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Mention.JPG

Want to know who mentioned you in their posts? Then you probably know that eSteem has such a wonderful feature as Notifications about mentions. You were mentioned as the winner of the contest, someone refers to your post, dedicates an article to you or discusses your actions behind you - if this feature is enabled in your settings, you will receive appropriate notifications.

Notification panel.jpg

But during my use of eSteem I repeatedly noticed that this function does not work correctly.
Notifications come always and in full and here I have no complaints. But when I tap one of notifications in the panel, trying to came to the post- the source of mention, the eSteem application is launching, and I'm finding myself redirrected not to the desired message that contains a mention, but to my "feed" page. See the timing on the previous picture - one click, one second and I am here

Feed.jpg

The notification disappears from the list of notifications on the panel, and if you do not remember the author of the message, you have no chance to find the desired post.

I tried to tap the message from the notification panel by first running eSteem on another page (e.g "new"), not on the "feed". In this case, nothing happens at all, I remain on the same page, and the notification disappears from the panel.

Situation with Mentions is even worse if you are working in the application, writing, reading, and at that moment someone mentioned you. A narrow black line with small text like: @user123 mentioned you in the "post about ..." appears at the bottom of the screen. It disappears in less than a second, you only have time to notice that something was blinking at the bottom, and think "What a shit!".

Untitled-1.gif

This picture was drawn in the editor to demonstrate the process in action.
Have you had time to read anything? I also do not have time.
To read it, have time to press or take a picture - it's unreal. Whoever mentioned you at this moment will remain a mystery.

I opened en issue on the GitHub,
Github.JPG

maybe someone will find the right solution https://github.com/eSteemApp/esteem/issues/185

Added later:
Device - Xiaomi Redmi 4A
OS - Android 6.0.1



Open Source Contribution posted via Utopian.io

Sort:  

Hey @erikaflynn I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 9% Power!

Suggestions https://utopian.io/rules

  • Utopian has detected 1 bot votes. I am the only bot you should love!!

Achievements

  • I am a bot...I need someone spotting my bugs!
  • Much more informative than others in this category. Good job!
  • Votes on this contribution are going well. Nice!
  • You are having more votes than average for this category. Nice!
  • You have a good amount of votes on your contributions. Good job!
  • In total you have more votes than average for this category. Bravo!
  • You have just unlocked 6 achievements. Yeah!
    Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

I confirm that in eSteem app, notifications about mentions don't work as expected. I don't know if its is a bug or if it's an idea to do. Sometimes tapping on a notification, only shows a dialog box that does not open the post referred in the notification.
P.S. Also tapping on a new follower notification, does not open the person's page.
I guess you need some @good-karma to have this post accepted on utopian.io

Thank you for your support!
It seems that I'm not alone in this problem.

I connected him on Steemit.chat and he announced an interesting decision for this problem. All mentions will be recorded and saved, but so far it is only in development. Wish him luck!

Whoever mentioned you at this moment will remain a mystery

Yes, i also thinking about it... 😤

I hope it will be fixed soon:-)

Thank you for the contribution. can you remove the tag 'busy' it seems nothing to do with your post when you're done reply to this comment thanks.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23