You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: March ’18 New Steemit User Report – Blockchain Business Intelligence

in #utopian-io6 years ago

That is some massive growth. Does make you wonder how many of those accounts are not first-timers. I just always find It odd people go through the hassle of creating an account on sites that they then never use. I’m wondering what the wait time was between signing up for a new account and it is processed and created.

Part of me wonders if Steemit has grown enough in size and traffic that the corporate world has started to register names to some degree to at least reserve it and keep others from trying to pose as them. That is often an issue in social media when new things come out you really need to go out and claim your name on sites even if you never intend to use it. Just so some random joe is not taking it and using it in a suspect way or camping the name like a domain hoping to make a profit if you ever find yourself needing it.

While people like me could be proof that it is possible to have several “high” quality comments in a single day I hate to think the kind of comments these people are pushing out when they start to cross 100’s to 1000’s of comments a day. In a really active day, I could put out twenty to fifty "average" comments. Most weeks I believe I don’t even cross hundreds very often. Even that only a couple for that week had some decent effort put into them.

While it should not be of any shock people are investing there stake the way they are it is also disappointing. I guess we can be thankful people are least buying and holding SP for at least the short to medium term. This at least shows people see us as having or being undervalued enough to be buying up such large quantities of SP even if it is a bit suspect in the way they choose to use it.

Thank you for taking the time to create such a very nice and detail post like these. It gives great insight into what is going on for the site. It is always enjoyable reading how the sites growth is doing and what some of the more active “new” users have been up to.

Sort:  

hay and thanks for your comment - although you can put out 20-50 average comments, lets face it, there are few that do this. It might be worth me revisiting data on the average word count in comments.

You are also right about the name grabbing, although a quick look in the data doesn't really suggest too much of this going on

I have wondered what percentage of the new people who never comment/blog are voting? While I would hope someone new who is active is at least leaving comments. Not everyone on YouTube creates videos and at some point, we should be getting people who just enjoy the content but not engaging with it in other ways expect an upvote, follow, and maybe a restreem.

I have also run in on rare occasion people who only comment. Granted the biggest one I knew of just the other day I think made his/her first blog post.

While I would hate for this to create a bunch of extra work each month for you. I do wonder along with comment lengths if we are starting to get a group of people who are not content creators but rather content consumers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66