You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @utopian-io - Analysing 'spam' comments - 'nice post', 'good post', 'follow me'

in #utopian-io7 years ago

So you are saying if I included “good post” in my comment that author will be so over joyed they might just give me an upvote? Hehe. I guess I’m not really shocked. People spend a lot of time creating content and any kind of positive feedback tends to be more welcomed then not even when its short form or spam.

This is one list I never want be top of! I do on occasion in a satire kind of way to start off with the for mentioned comments. Always sad getting to a bottom of a blog and just seeing sea of spam. I only do that with people who know I HATE those kinds of comments and I’m just mocking it.

Those December drops are really interesting. Makes me wonder if those kind of accounts changed up tactics. I have noticed a little more “effort” is put into some of these spam comments. They still copy/paste but they try and appear to be as vague as possible while still trying get an upvote out of it.

I have come across a couple of people in past few months where I had to go check their comments just to confirm that it was a copy/paste and they were just targeting a certain tag.

I knew some of them where getting upvote once in a while but even at 24%+ successes rate I can see why some of them are going this route.

I have in the past even attempted a couple of times to interact with a spammer. Few times they wanted to argue they were not spam, or they never even reply back. Some of them centrally seem to be human. I suspect some of them live in a low living cost country where $1-2 a day is the living cost. It's a shame they don't realize there are better ways to make way more then that here and they are just tossing it down the drain.

I really am not shocked there are group like mentally forming around this kind of thing. These kind of people tend to have certain kind of "ethics" in how they wish to behave here. Once in a while I have run into some kind of “collative” that will go around trying recruit people into such nonsense.

Sort:  

Thanks for the great comment, this is more like it!

Those December drops are really interesting. Makes me wonder if those kind of accounts changed up tactics.

I think it was December when I started noticing the unrelated, longer spam-like comments, and the copy/pasting of other replies.

I dislike those even more and have flagged what I've noticed, so perhaps normal 'good post' service was resumed the following month!

Once in a while I have run into some kind of “collative” that will go around trying recruit people into such nonsense.

That is disappointing to learn, I'd be tempted with some flags there!

Some of them centrally seem to be human. I suspect some of them live in a low living cost country where $1-2 a day is the living cost. It's a shame they don't realize there are better ways to make way more then that here and they are just tossing it down the drain.

Totally agree here. Just one 'good post' (ops!) has the potential to earn more than a 1000 crap comments!

I've added you to my feed as I like cats, the idea of time traveling, and excellent comments 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43