Selfeed - Selfish feed for steemit

in #utopian-io7 years ago

Social networks let us extend our narcisism to the cyborg realm. Selfishness is the main reason we all are here, behind our avatars, pushing our egos to the cloud by putting our stuff out there so others can see us. Thus, I present to you The SELFEED.

image.png

To get familiar with steem.js API I have implemented a raw idea I got a few weeks ago. I usually have a hard time going through the steemit feed. Sometimes I would just like to see the content of the users that care about me, so I can support them back and give them priority over other zombie users that don't care about my posts. Steemit does lack a personalized recommendation system and even though this small project does not cover any smart recommendations, at least it does some selfish filtering.

This script goes through the latest posts in a user profile and gets the votes and replies for each. Then for each of the users that voted and replied, it gets a score. Comments are worth 3 points, while upvotes are worth 1 point. It then gets the top 20 users that support the user's content and gets their blogs. All posts are aggregated and sorted by date from newer to older posts. It is powered by vue.js and steem.js API and is a one-page one-file application that runs on the browser without much effort (other than putting your username in the url and pressing enter).

The repository in github is here. The html file can be accessed with github raw content delivery service here:

https://cdn.rawgit.com/Guitlle/selfeed/0da3dee2/index.html

In order to see your own selfish feed, add your username as a hash. For instance, to see my own selfish feed the link would look like this:

https://cdn.rawgit.com/Guitlle/selfeed/0da3dee2/index.html#elguille

One challenge I found was managing the async calls of the API within vue.js, but I made a workaround for this. Code is quite messy and I have preferred to put it all in one file in order to get a quick prototype. Nonetheless, I might go back and clean the code in the future.

Anyway, this was a great one-night project and I have learned a lot more about steemit :)

What do you think? Do you find it useful, unethical, stupid or plain awesome?



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @elguille I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

well it is not plain Awesome but i think it's really AWESOME.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Hi! I really like your idea, and agree that Steemit needs a system to allow a contributor to interact with their valuable followers. Maybe a chance for you to build your own front end to the Steemit blockchain? =)

I have approved your post, but could you please add a license file to your repository? For a project to be truly open source, it will need an appropriate license.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hi, thanks. I've put the license file. A full steemit frontend would be nice to do

Ah, ya vi que lo habias puesto en utopian por aquí. Super.
Resteem!

great idea but when I tried it , nothing shows up

Thank you. It's working now...I think I will write about this in my post

really awesome!!! I am saving it =)

Gracias! espero que te sea útil

Simonki. Aceptas contribuciones para el diseño?;)

Claro que sí. Que diseño se te ocurre?

De momento no lo sé xD te parece si charlamos por discord?:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58630.84
ETH 2465.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38