You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem development #2: Make a JavaScript app using the Steem blockchain

in #utopian-io7 years ago

I got the app to work following your tutorial :) Your instructions are clear and concise.


I found one error in the instructions.
In "Displaying the followers" step 3 to modify handleSubmit, you still have your username hardcoded in the getFollowers call.
Instead of
steem.api.getFollowers('xenetics', 0, 'blog', 100, (err, result) => {
it should be
steem.api.getFollowers(this.state.username, 0, 'blog', 100, (err, result) => {


I found one slight deviation from your description regarding the react app setup:
I'm on Windows 10, and tried it out with my old node/npm installs (versions 6.11.4 and 3.10.10 respectively - I was hesitant to upgrade these versions since I rely on them for my local web servers)
After executing create-react-app followers I see references to npm instead of yarn:

Capture-steem-tut-1.JPG
Thus I can use npm start to run the server.

Sort:  

Perhaps it detected you didn't have yarn. Thanks for the correction, glad you got it working.

Running steem locally would also be a great way to learn more about Steemjs and JS in general.

Perhaps it detected you didn't have yarn.

Correct, I don't have yarn installed.

I upvoted my original comment to move it up in the comment section so that others may see the corrections.

Thanks a lot for that. I tried editing my post but keep getting "An image did not save correctly" - I can't seem to fix the errors your pointed out. Hopefully people see your comment -- or can figure it out.

The error is minor and developers should be able to spot it easily.

I used to run into encoding-related update issues due to icon glyphs in my posts but I don't see anything in your post that might trigger that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56