School Life (Must Have Apps Part 3)

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Mark Twain once said, "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
We are all students of life, and according to Mark Twain, We will one day reminisce about the time and opportunities we missed. Electronic mail commonly known as email is one of the most reliable means of sending and receiving life-changing information. A lot of people have missed out of important opportunities just because they got their mail delivered to their device a little bit late. Everyone deserves a fast and reliable mail application, I'm talking about an Electronic mail application that is secured and delivers your emails at the go.
This post is a part of an ongoing series and I will be focusing solely on this amazing electronic mail application known as " FairEmail".

What Is FairEmail?

FairEmail Is a privacy-friendly open source application. This application is minimalistic by design, so you can concentrate on reading and writing messages. This app starts a foreground service with a low priority status bar notification to make sure you'll never miss a new email.

Features of FairEmail

This application has some interesting features but I'll only talk about the ones that I've gotten to like during my period of usage so far.

Easy Setup process

This application is very easy to set up. It took me less than 5minutes to complete the setup process. The single tap authorization present in the application enables the user to easily log in any email address that exists in the device.
IMG_20190124_190958_346.JPG
IMG_20190124_191016_637.JPG

Simple user interface

The application has a very simple and straight forward user interface and that's one of the reasons I enjoy using the application. I personally believe that a fancy user interface is a distraction to any student.
IMG_20190124_191035_162.JPG

Instant notification and Multiple Accounts

Having all my emails in one place is what I really love and that's exactly what this application offers me. The application is designed in a way that a user can add multiple email addresses thereby having one unified inbox. The instant notification is an added advantage as you no longer have to miss an appointment due to late mail discovery.

Offline storage and operations

Sometimes I find myself in an area with little or no internet connection, Then the need to get an important document from my mail inbox occurs. Before discovering this application, I was always stranded in such kind of situation but all thanks to FairEmail, I now get the required information directly from my inbox with the help of the offline backup function present in the application. That simply means that you can still access your already synchronized mail in the absence of a working internet connection.

Low data and space usage

I always have issues with heavy applications. One of the things that fascinated me when I saw this application was the low data consumption, low power consumption, and the small application size. I did run a personal test with other apps in terms of power consumption and I found out that the FairEmail application is actually the best in terms of power data consumption.
The application size is actually less than 6mb and I'm sure people having low space will have no problem with the application.

Flexible Customization

This is the best part of the FairEmail Application. You are given lots of room for user customization. You are free to customize the behavior of the application, the display, and the connection. This customization made me feel like I coded the app myself since I was able to tune it just the way I wanted.
IMG_20190124_232448_187.JPG
IMG_20190124_232509_386.JPG
IMG_20190124_232524_101.JPG
IMG_20190124_232538_161.JPG

My personal review and suggestion

I've already stated my opinions concerning the application and I would not want to repeat the whole process again to avoid word padding. However, I wish to suggest that few setup tutorials be made available at the first lunch of the app after installation. This alone will help first-timers who are not really technologically incline to set up easily and enjoy this wonderful application.
NOTE: The above review is my own personal opinion and view towards the application and thereby does not mean you will feel the same way about the application.

Conclusion

Having a good and secured electronic mail application is a necessity. The FairEmail application offers you the best privacy that you deserve. The absence of no central server for mail storage totally eradicates the possibility of a cyber attack and gives you the rest of mind that your secret is truly your secret. Come onboard this amazing train by installing their android application and I'm sure you won't regret it.

Links

Project repository
https://github.com/M66B/open-source-email

Github profile
https://github.com/dongentle2

Android play store link
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=eu.faircode.email&ah=ebe5W46Rm6CevXgzAcoBQhPMeGU

Resources

This post and all its contents were written by me based on my Experience, Research, Knowledge and personal use of the FairEmail Android application.
Most Images are from my usage screenshots and all other ones are properly referenced.

Series backlinks

Below is the link to the first post of this series
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@dongentle2/school-life-must-have-apps-part-1

Below is the link to the second post of this series
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@dongentle2/school-life-must-have-apps-part-2

Sort:  

Hello, @dongentle2!

Thank you for this very nice post. Your review is comprehensive, rather informative and well-illustrated with relevant graphic content. Well done!

On the content side, I think that you did a really good job. I like all the information included in your review, and I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a few words about your personal preferences and experience of using FairEmail. Furthermore, I enjoyed reading about the key features of the application, and I have to admit that you convinced me to download and start using it; it goes without saying that I appreciate the information that you provided me with.

That said, there were proofreading issues which could have been avoided. Regardless, I enjoyed reading your review. I look forward to reading the next part of this series.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @lordneroo! Keep up the good work!

Thank you @lordneroo for your review.. I'll keep working on the proof reading aspect.

Hi @dongentle2!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @dongentle2!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81