You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Hede.io Series – Define it Your Own Way [Episode 1]

in #utopian-io6 years ago

This is another really good post from you, and I'm not saying that because you wrote such a nice hede.io entry about me. You did a great job including your own experience with the project and your insights about it, which is vital when making a Utopian blog category post when you're not the developer.

I will, once again, continue to push you to work to improve your style and grammar. This time, I'll talk about idiomatic use of language.

You use the phrase "Your ears would definitely stand once you hear it." This is not an English language idiom, as far as I know. English has the very dirty sounding "prick up your ears," which means "to listen."

Dogs' ears stand up when they're excited, which sounds more relevant. Is it a German idiom? I did some googling but couldn't find it... possibly because I don't speak German. We have a similar expression in Hebrew, which also means "to listen."

In any case, I would always recommend googling an expression before using it, to see if it's a thing.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Hahahaha... I just read the part where you stated

"...I'm not saying that because you wrote such a nice hede.io entry about me."

Thank you very much for the continuous feedbacks. They are essential tips for me in the journey towards improving my writing and editing skills. I will endeavor to do a better work in my upcoming submissions.

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 31 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44