You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: State-of-the-art science on Steem: towards a new Python program for particle collision simulations

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Nice, I also lead development of several scientific packages in Python. Most recently, we've been working on hetmech, which is a toolset for network analyses. We make heavy use of numpy (arrays), scipy (sparse matrices), and pandas (dataframes). I'm guessing your project will share many of the same dependencies?

Sort:  

The scipy and numpy packages will definitely be used, as one needs to develop some algebraic methods involving spinors and four-vectors, deal with complex numbers, matrices, etc... I am not too sure pandas will be needed here (I however do not know the package).

Would you be interested in taking part of the development of this program? I would be happy to discuss in more details the needs of the project with you.

Pandas is for tables with columnar data, i.e. when every value in a column is the same type, but different columns may have different types. There's also a young package named xarray, which extends numpy arrays with better axis labels and axis matching between datasets.

Would you be interested in taking part of the development of this program? I would be happy to discuss in more details the needs of the project with you.

I don't have a ton of time at the moment, but the most efficient way for me to get involved would be if you tag @dhimmel on a GitHub Issue or Pull Request (or on Steem) when you have a question. Happy to help in small ways like:

  1. style review of code
  2. continuous integration help
  3. help setting up conda environments
  4. pandas questions
  5. numpy or scipy.sparse questions

Cheers

I was not considering tabulating the data needed by the code (the inputs) because they are not that large, but I will think about it. If this could help for manipulating them, I am all good. In any case, everything will be pubic and transparent, so... :)

Thanks for proposing your help with the time you have. Appreciated! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74