You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Case for Showing Pending Rewards in STEEM

in #utopian-io6 years ago

@rycharde : This seems to be a really useful article with links to other helpful ones. As @georgeboya said I need to read it multiple times. Plus I need to understand much more about blockchain and economic fundamentals. I always hear from people STEEM is the fundamental currency here, not SBDs. But I never understood really why. There are many gaps in my understandings. I don't understand when you say APR. Even the concept of rshares are not very clear to me. But when I get time, I read about these.

Sort:  

The link I gave re the formulas should be helpful:
https://www.steem.center/index.php?title=Rewards:Formulas

STEEM is created through the inflation algorithm, it cannot go to zero unless a HF decides so; in contrast, SBD is only created as part, but not all, of rewards, and the print rate can go to zero. For the why of SBDs, you'd better ask @dan :-) It does seem to work on a macro level but possibly not as intended.

Thanks for the reply. I will have to learn more. You tagged Dan Larimer?? Woah!

Why, is that a crime? ;-)
Although Dan has been largely inactive the last 6 months, his father, @Stan still posts - perhaps the Graphene family needs to work together more; there are ready-made solutions to certain things, such as SMTs. Wandering slightly off-topic now.

Graphene family? I know very little about the background stories. I have heard that both bitshares and steem uses graphene tech. Nothing more than that. Yeah we are going off-topic. So maybe I should stop. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58006.10
ETH 3098.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43