Recreating Voxel.JS' Logo with Material Design PrinciplessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Good Day!

This time we're recreating another logo for an Open Source Project called Voxel.JS. We're using the Material Design Principle.


Read more in Voxel JS


Website Link: VoxelJS.com

Github Link: Voxel - Voxel JS Github


Why am I recreating their Logo? Just look at these close-ups of their logo:


It seems that the borders were added per cube's side individually.

So, that's why I'm recreating it. I also think that Material Design will really look good on most logos and it will be great if they have an alternative logo based on it. A good use-case for this is when customizing icon sets for docks or launchers.


Here's How It's Made:

Start by creating a base shape for the logo. I will use a circle for this one:

image.png

I pasted the Original Voxel.js logo in black here to use as my reference for recreating it:

image.png
Original Logo from Voxel JS

The first thing I did was use the Polygonal Lasso Tool to capture the shape on one side of their logo (their logo is a 3d cube showing 3 sides):

Then I filled it out with a random color first, on this sample I used black:

Afterwards, I filled out the rest of the cube's faces (top and left sides):


Now, we have our Logo's base:

Logo Base.png

We then add highlights and drop shadows:

Logo Base 2.png

Then the angled shadow for the whole shape:

Logo Base 3.png

Lastly, we add the "JS" letters, I decided to made them in 8-bit using a font named "System":

Logo Base 4.png


Here's the original Logo Set from their website:


From Voxel JS

Here's the whole set changed to Logos based on material design:

material set.png

I used their original colors and applied them to the Materialized Logo, here's a gif:

GIF.gif


Here are the New Logos by color in full size .png files:

yellow.png

black.png

pink.png

blue.png

army.png

moss.png

Here's a mock-up of their website using the Logo I made:



Open Source Contribution posted via Utopian.io

Sort:  

Hey @deveerei I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 89% Power!

Suggestions https://utopian.io/rules

-Utopian has detected 1 bot votes. I am the only bot you should love!!

Achievements

-Creativity makes the World a better place. Thanks!
-Good amount of information. Thank you!
-A very informative contribution. Good job!
-Votes on this contribution are going well. Nice!
-You are having more votes than average for this category. Nice!
-You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!
-Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!
-You have a good amount of votes on your contributions. Good job!
-In total you have more votes than average for this category. Bravo!
-You have just unlocked 9 achievements. Yeah!
Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one.

Flat design approach in a 3D setting with the long shades! ;-)

Just like that yes. I was just fascinated how something so simple has this complicated instructions and stuff: https://material.io/guidelines/style/icons.html#icons-icons-for-android

I spent my entire day studying that yesterday.

I am resteeming to read later. I'm not so hot at programming but I'm way into VR. Feel like am early adapter with my Vive🤖🤖🤖

Good for you! I wish I had VR equips too.

wow... nice art. i like your art and uovoted.Thasks for sharing.

Thanks! You have a good one!

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

wow. verycoll @deveerei. u're good at design..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59189.63
ETH 2650.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42