How to Get Free Material Design Icons from Google!

in #utopian-io7 years ago

image.png
Screenshot from Material

Material is Google's design language. It is one of the most famous today because of Android (and basically, anything Google). Did you know that these icons are open sourced? So, that means you can definitely use them anywhere.

image.png
Screenshot from Material

Here's what their page looks:

Simply scroll to a category to find the icon that you will be needing, or use the search functionality.

image.png
Screenshot from Material

Click on an Icon to show the Options that you have for Download:

image.png
Screenshot from Material

  • This contains a preview image as well:

image.png

  • You can select the size:

image.png

  • Select color, from black or white:

image.png

  • Download SVG file:

image.png

  • Download PNG file:

image.png

  • Use as an Icon Font:

image.png


image.png

The SVG button downloads your file directly to your device as an SVG file:

image.png

The PNG button will get you a zipped folder:

image.png

Simply extract it for it to be usable, once you open the zipped file, here's what you will find:

image.png

  • Icons used for Android.

image.png

  • Icons used for iOS.

image.png

  • Icons for web.

image.png

image.png

Opening the Icon Font will give you instructions on how to use it, right on the same space.

image.png

The full instructions can be found here: Icon font for the web.

image.png

You can either use:

  • Google Web Fonts or
  • Self hosting

image.png
Screenshot from Material



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

The internet is becoming a great venue wherein you can find stuff such as this one. I hope to become more literate when it comes to this technology so that I could use it as well. Thank you a lot dev!

It is po. A lot of things are really useful and a lot are free over the web too.

Nice to know that those icons are opensource.

Yes, good resources for people like me. :D

Man, I am so clueless these days when it comes to development and design...I used to be into it when I was much younger, like in my teenage years...but somewhere along the line I shifted from that mentality into consumer/frontend user mentality. :( Do you think it's still possible to retrain my brain to get back into it?

I'm pretty sure it is. Creation is something our inner selves seek afterall in my opinion.

This is wonderful, i will surely try it out. Instead going through all the stress coupled with paying for icons, I will give it a trial.
Bloggers come and maximize this opportunity.

this are very useful for users like me who wants their website.
Thanks again for sharing @deveerei

This will definitely come in handy the next time I have a designing project. Thanks for the info!

This is very useful for web ui designing just a plug and play version thanks for sharing Dev! 💯

Hey @deveerei I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72