Busy.org Translation to FilipinosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

I recently made a profile in Crowdin because it was required to make a contribution to a Translation Request from @busy.org.

image.png

As you can see there, I only have 1 project listed so far - which is Busy. Maybe in the future I'll be able to add more projects in that list, that will surely keep me 'Busy'.

Opening the Project will show me what Languages they are working on. Since I'm a Filipino residing in the Philippines and aside from English, the only other language I know is Filipino so I'm contributing to that.

image.png

I'm contributing first through voting previously submitted translations of words and phrases used in Busy.org. If you notice, the progress is still at 0% approved.

image.png

Checking further will say that all words (481 total) have been translated 100% but none have been approved at all (0%):

image.png

It seems that those translations has to receive votes in order to be approved and used. Opening "Voting Mode" will redirect you into a page that will give a list of translations and they will ask you to vote on them:

image.png

The list will be inside a panel on the left part of the page. While the right side contains this panel:

image.png

This is where you will see all submitted translation for a selected Word or Phrase, as well as suggestions over the web from different sources and services, and this is where you can cast your vote between the two. This is one way of contributing to the project.

image.png

The Comments section is very useful in discussing if there are confusion that has to be addressed or clarifications needed to make the translation work.

So far I have been voting on translations that I think would work properly, and skipping those translation that will just seem weird to a local user. I remember Google having that mistake where they translated "Loading" to "Kumakarga", that loading means it's trying to load the page, meanwhile it's translation meant it's loading something onto another thing (like you're loading your things onto a truck or something), it could be synonymous to lifting. It kept me laughing for quite a few instances. That's why I think Open Source translating is something that has an advantage.

Translating in Crowdin

Translating words will be an amazing contribution you can give to Open Source projects. I also gave it a try with @busy.org's translation request through the use of Crowdin. Here's what the Translate page looks like:

image.png

It's divided into 3 columns.

The left part is where you choose the Words or Phrases you can translate.
The middle part is where you perform and submit the translation. It's split into 2 rows. The first for the translation and the second row for previous submissions and suggestions.
The right part is where you can see comments submitted for the selected Word or Phrase in various languages.

Here are some of the Words/Phrases I have translated:


image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png
image.png

I'm encouraging other Filipino Steemians to contribute here as well, just go here. Either make better translations or vote on the best translation you see.


Open Source Contribution posted via https://utopian.io

Sort:  

Hey @deveerei I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 76% Power!

Suggestions https://utopian.io/rules

-Utopian has detected 1 bot votes. I am the only bot you should love!!

Achievements

-You are helping this project go global! Appreciated!
-Good amount of information. Thank you!
-A very informative contribution. Good job!
-Votes on this contribution are going well. Nice!
-You are having more votes than average for this category. Nice!
-You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!
-You have just unlocked 6 achievements. Yeah!
Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one.

@ruah are you able to check what bot account voted on me?

nice post ... follow me and upvote my post

Cool. I should study this Utopian thing too.

Please do - it can be to your benefit.

Will check it out asap - thanks!

I hope I can do contributions like this as well Dev. You did good.

You just have to find one that suits you @robiney, thanks so much for dropping by!

Cool dude. Gusto ko to. Minsan laughtrip yung Tagalog translations e.

Haha - sarap nga paglaruan ng Translate na app minsan e.

Kuya yung project ko sa school paki-translate nga hahaha.

Lol ka ewan ko sa'yo :P

Amazing Dev, didnt know you do these stuff as well. Thanks for sharing, there's lots to discover here pala.

There are lots of things going on dito sa Steemit - it's really vast and I know you can find your niche.

verified this

[utopian-moderator]

Galing Kuya. Madami bang projects ng translation sa mga Open Source?

Thanks! Medyo madami siguro - pero so far Busy pa lang alam ko eh. :) Siguro pag sinipag maghanap may makitang iba.

Thank you For Share !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54337.36
ETH 2271.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32