https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@dbzfan4awhile/c-programming-beginner-tutorial-designing-the-game-with-programming-logic-in-mind-part-3

in #utopian-io7 years ago

Well well well, what have we here?? Santa Claus, oh wait no it's me in a Yeti hat wearing a Packers Santa hat (I know they're out of the Playoffs and I'm saddened that they couldn't make it happen again this year, but it is what it is). So, there I am in my Yeti Claus outfit waiting to drop some Learning Presents on my favorite school of minnows, dolphins & whales! Merry Christmas early, on-time & late (depending on when you read this)! If you celebrate another Holiday, I hope it's a wonderful one; and if you don't believe in celebrating any Holiday over the Winter Season, then I certainly hope it's an awesome Steem Season for you all!

PackerYetiClaus2.JPG

So, as a Yeti I am going to be teaching you all about the Cold, Hard Facts with Ice in my Veins. Today's lesson will be quick and will demonstrate some basic information that we still need to consider in regards to creating the best game platform possible without a huge team of Professional Programmers.


image.png
Table of Contents Image

So here's what we'll be discussing in today's Post and the next Post in order to break up the monotony of actual Code and Logic:

**The Basic Overview
**Game Play
**The Look-and-Feel
**Game Concept
**Game Features
**Game Items
*Game Scoring
*Game Add-Ons
Game Purchases and Item Purchases
Game Tactics

** - Covered in Previous Post(s)
*- Covered in this Post


image.png
Hi Score

Game Scoring

So let's start this Lesson by Roooooooaaaaaring forward and discuss Scooooooooring!! Scores are a very important feature of Games. It is the one way that everyone can gauge their personal progress as well as gain Bragging Rights over other Players, whether Friends or Enemies. Alas, I don't put much stock in actual Scores, being a Yeti and all... that is, unless Sasquatch, Big Foot or Chewbacca have better scores than I do. Growl! Growl!

So you see, Scores are a great way to show off your skills! It's like the Post Rewards in Steemit... I'm all Jelly of other Steemians that are making more than I am in less time. It upsets me but then drives me onward! The same is usually true of Game Scores and Leaderboards!!

If we think in terms of the Space-Capture-the-Flag Game that we're creating, we need to consider all of the possible ways to earn Points and increase a Player's Score. Following is a list that I'm compiling of items that we can consider in regards to your Game Score:

image.png
Power Up

SCORING POINTS (pun intended):

Capturing the Flag
Winning a Dog Fight
Day Without Damage
Energy Collected
Materials Collected
Materials Sold
Add-Ons Built
Ship Components Repaired
Successful Orbit
Successful Land Mining
Successful Parlay
Collected Treasure

Obviously there will be plenty more as well.


image.png
Crypto Spaceship

With the advent of Cryptokitties I think it would be awesome to create a system to buy and sell Spaceships in a similar way as Cryptokitties. So I would create a virtual Universe with a virtual Federation that creates a single Spaceship every so many minutes or hours until the finalized amount are created. Then you can customize and build up that ship, after purchasing it with a Cryptocurrency, before flying it in the game and making it the most awesome ship in the Cosmos.

Each Player could buy and/or sell their Spaceships and develop their own small Fleet to make money; and if the game is as good as I envision, it could be a driving force to Infinity and Beyond. I, unfortunately, have no experience at all in the creation of Crypto Tokens and/or systems like this.


image.png
Game Add Ons

Game Add-Ons

This Section is going to be very small, because I'm leaving it up to everyone that comments to provide me with a few Add-Ons to the Game. A Game Add-On can be either an Expansion of the game or new and exciting Game Items for purchase! So in the comments, please let me know if you have any Add-Ons that you would like to see in the game!


image.png
Hitman Monkey Meme

Thanks for reading and I'll see you in the next lesson!!

Here are previous lessons if you need to brush up:

Basic Concepts & Ideas
First Look at Actual Code - D&D Focus
Variables & Data Types to Fuel the Game Engine
Designing the Game with Logic in Mind
c-programming-beginner-tutorial-designing-the-game-with-programming-logic-in-mind-part-2



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Dude I would totally play CryptoRockets and build my own little armada to fly me to the moon and beyond! :P

Well, keep on following the Series (I'm going to start branding it with the csharp-forbeginners tag) and see what happens.

If you allow me to comment, you really look like a polar bear, very serious and a Christmas bear is not to be serious, hehehe !!. A smile would make you shine much more on your white skin. And as we say on these sides, tenderly you would see "cuchito" (expression of pleasure before something that looks very tender). Excuse my English but I use a translator. I follow you. Successes

Your comment warms this Yeti Heart, lol. Thank you and I hope the Post helps you learn.

nice post bro ... keep it up

Thank you, I plan on continuing through next year if I have enough material for these Tutorials.

i like your good post.thanks for sharing

You are quite welcome and I hope it's insightful.

Wow 😮, what a young Santa Claus we have here, thanks for the information on game, really gaming is doing pretty well on steemit, and now, you’ve come with tutorials!

Thanks for sharing.

I am trying to expand the Platform by bringing it to the Casual Gamers and Programmers for Gaming. I'm glad you liked the Gift of Learning!

Nice post! Have you heard of Decentraland already?! Think there is much to come! :D

Very interesting! Decentraland looks to be a decentralized version of so many other build-and-develop-and-evolve games. I wonder if it will become something as big as some of the other competitors.

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules. Gameplay tutorials are not valid tutorials as per utopian rules.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Where do you see a "Gameplay tutorial" @shreyasgune? Oo

Although I don't see it as a gameplay tutorial, I'll just stop discussing the game at all. I'll just focus on writing quicker tutorials to show only programming code elements.

Thanks for pointing this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67