SteemSwitch: Firefox taskbar menu designsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

steemswitvh-menu2.png

I want to share with you the preview of a new menu ready for the next SteemSwitch release. It's my own design with the exception of a background colour change on hover, added by @antonchanning.

steemswitvh-menu.png

I am happy with the progress on this so far. I enjoyed playing around with CSS until the menu began looking clean, readable and stylish. I looked at different menu designs in my own browser to compare different functionalities and looks and took inspiration from there.

I noticed that pale greys strongly dominate. I decided to use it for the main background but make the buttons bluish to make them stand out and look more distinct. Darker blue on hover, added by Anton, emphasises this effect. I like it.

I might want to add greyed-out icons for options that have no logo, Chainbb and Steemdb, to differentiate from the steemit.com logo. I may also do some small improvements to the SteemSwitch logo. It looks a bit small and doesn't stand out as much as I would like it to.

Thank you for your interest in SteemSwich development.


Posted on utopian.io

steemswitch_96.png

Sort:  

Thanks @dana-varahi for using Utopian.io again to share your contributions to SteemSwitch!

It would be great if you could also add Steemstats and Steemworld to the menu. I find them very useful. Thanks!

I just wanted to install the add-on, but before I do I have to ask: What do you need my browsing history and my passwords for?

I have no idea why Firefox say this plugin needs that. There is nothing in the code that accesses browsing history or passwords and it doesn't send any information outside of your browser. It might be because the alpha version inserts html into the page to create the SteemSwitch header. This will be removed in the beta version, so hopefully that will resolve that warning. We are not collecting any data with this add-on.

This said, I'm not sure 'Access your data for all websites' grants access to passwords and browsing history anyway? I doubt Mozilla allow plugins that break password security in their add-on repository and I would have though browsing history has a special permission all of its own.

Thanks for the feedback. I have no idea about browsers, but only read the message, which sounded like I'm opening my butt hole if I accept. I will therefore wait for the beta version;-)

aka bookmarks :D

No, this is more clever than bookmarks. Suppose you are looking at this post on steemit. Pressing one of those buttons will take you to the exact same post on chainbb or busy, or the analysis of the post on steemd or steemdb. Similar for viewing a user profile page, or a list of posts by tag, etc...

@utopian-io has just super-voted this contribution.

@dana-varahi thanks for using https://utopian.io to contribute to the Open Source project SteemSwitch.

Voting this comment will help @utopian-io growing its power so to incentivise more contributions to Open Source projects.

Thank you, your super-vote made my day! :) :) :)

The menu is just waiting for me to program the correct actions on the buttons now, then we can make the next release. Not long!

Congratulations @dana-varahi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50