Dana's theme for BlockPress

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

blog.resized.png

This theme was created to demonstrate the customisation possibilities for BlockPress. My intention was to make it quite different from the Dark Theme currently featured on the BlockPress website. There are some nice features in this theme but before I walk you through them, have a look at my code on GitHub:

GitHub commits

Sidebar menu

home01.resized.png

This is a screenshot of the homepage. As you can see the menu isn't visible. There is a menu button in the upper left corner. Once you click it, the sidebar pops out and the page rearranges itself slightly.

home02.resized.png

This is the most advanced feature of Dana's theme. Implementing it required writing a jQuery function.

scrpt.resized.png

To close the sidebar just press the x button and the page comes back to how it was before.

Colour palette

profile.resized.png

Because this theme is implemented on my BlockPress site, I decided to pick some colours from my current profile image and banner. It was an easy thing to get inspiration from and results in an elegant look.

posts.resized.png

Currently the banner image is hard coded in the header. Eventually, I would like it to load from the steem account of the user. I added a gradient layer with some opacity to visually integrate the image into the rest of the page.

I also customised the colours of the social media icons to fit the palette.

Responsive Design

blog02.resized.png

Implementing the responsive design feature for this theme was quite straightforward. I allowed the content area to span the width of the screen. I also removed the sidebar and placed the menu at the bottom.

home.resized.png

Thank you for reading.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Please think of how to setup a generic config.json files instead of changing this one when a different theme or user merges a request or at least a template file. See hard coded username here.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Oh, and you are right that if we add support for themes auto-loading steem content, the config.json (or local custom config version) will be where the username for that will be defined. There may also simply be an option to define a banner url, and site image, independent of data pulled from steem. Which would provide more flexibility.

Seperating the default from the local config files is a priority job in the tracker:
https://github.com/blockpress/blockpress.me/issues/3

BlockPress is currently in alpha, and this issue is part of the requirements we need to fulfill before moving to beta.

Thank you very much. :)

Hey @dana-varahi I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

very beautiful post with nice content. thanks for share this post with us.

clean , cool project , good luck

wow!This post very nice,.I appreciate programming..thanks for sharing your blog..best of luck..upvote resteemit done.

Thanks a lot. :)

Most welcome my dear!!

Thanks a lot for discuss about valuable post dear and actually i follow your every post..thanks for sharing..resteemit...

You are very welcome. :)

yes dear...cheeers...

nice post.......
carry on...
thanks for sharing

most welcome dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82