Colour Palettes

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)


dana-vanilla.png

Commit on Github

Dana's theme supports colour palettes.

This is an exciting development. To enable custom colour palettes for this theme, it was necessary to remove colour specifications from the main css file. Now, that colours are not defined in the theme it can be combined with multiple different palettes.

Cherrypie Palette

As I was removing the colours from Dana's theme I was creating a palette from them. I decided to name it cherrypie. When I apply it to Dana's theme it looks just like it did before colour extraction, no visual changes.

dana-cherrypie.png

Vanilla Palette

In addition to working on Dana's theme and cherrypie palette, I worked with the existing Vanilla palette to ensure that its compatible with Dana's theme.

dana-cherrypie-vanilla.gif

Simple theme supports cherrypie palette.

After creating cherrypie palette I tested it on the simple theme and after discovering some bugs I added compatibility so they now work together.

simple-cherrypie.png

Harmonisation

The last touch was to tidy up Vanilla and Cherrypie palettes and harmonise their structure to make them easier to work with in the future.

venilla&cherrypie-pallets.png

Future developement

  • Chocorange palette

My next step will be to make sure that the existing Chocorange palette also works with Dana's theme.

  • Standard Generic Classes

As more themes and palettes will be created, the need to create standardised classes across BlockPress has arisen, so that themes and palettes are both understandable and universal.

  • Fix Palettes (not Palletes)

After committing my changes I noticed that we have a spelling error across all our files. Instead of palettes we use palletes. Both myself and @antonchanning are dyslexic. It was a spellchecker that picked up the error. I created a new issue for this on Github. Meanwhile we have to put up with feeling a bit silly. :D

simple-cherrypie-vanilla.gif



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Keep up on making blockpress more generic for others to use.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

I even looked up the spelling of palette at one point because the browser tried correcting 'pallete' to 'pallet'. But that is the kind you load boxes on. Somehow I still didn't notice that I had the double on the wrong letter. o.O

wow! it's a nice theme. i think it will be a better idea for colour specification. carry on your activity.

Hey @dana-varahi I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

I'm intrigued by this amazing work. Great job @dana-varahi. I believe I'd get to know this too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82