REDUCE EYES STRAIN WITH REDMOON

in #utopian-io5 years ago

Repository

https://github.com/LibreShift/red-moon

IMG_20190704_014913_611.JPG

I’ve always had late nights, it’s almost like a habit now. Sometimes I wish I could sleep early, but my eyes stay wide awake. So I end up pressing my phone from night till dawn sometimes. I was listening to Jim Kwik the other night, and I got to realize that the blue light from my phone and my other screen devices deprives me from sleep. It has to do with the inhibition of certain melatonin production. In case you are wondering what it is, it is a hormone that helps us sleep faster.

Then I began my usual search for an answer. Then I saw the Redmoon app while browsing through the Github repository. At first, I got attracted by its first line description which read:

Blue light may suppress the production of melatonin, the sleep hormone. Red Moon filters out blue light and dims your screen below the normal, so you can use your phone at night.

As always, it was the law of attraction at work as I got to find the app. I was skeptical, wondering if the app would work as described. So, I Installed the app on my phone. The first time I used it, I noticed I no longer have teary eyes. I usually have that when I look at my screen for too long. I’ve been dozing off early ever since I started using it. Been using it for about a week now and I’ve been sleeping better. Sometimes, I deactivate it on purpose, whenever I have a long task. I do this so I won’t sleep off on it.

Yesterday, I decided to tell my friends about the app. One of them told me she has a similar app on her phone called Eyecare. I asked her to share it with me via the Xender app. I did a little comparison with Redmoon. Although, Eye care was already a well-developed app. I did a mild comparison and came up with this review. Here it goes;

REDMOON APP REVIEW

As earlier stated, the app inhibits the emitting of blue light from phone screens. When activated, the phone screen becomes light reddish. I guess that’s where the name REDMOON came from.
Screenshot_20190703-121821.png
When you open the app, you are greeted with some important information about the app. The information ranges from the welcome page, why it’s important and how to use it. I don’t see the need in describing how to use the app though. The app is very straight forward as you will soon find out. In this review, I’ll be writing on its user interface and features. Although, I’ll still be comparing it to Eyecare where applicable.

USER INTERFACE

Screenshot_20190703-121901.png

Redmoon has a straightforward user interface that is easy to understand. I didn’t have any issue about it’s set up. The app has all its features and settings in just about three pages. With this format, it is very easy to set up what works best for any user.

Although, it is not the same for eye care that has many parameters on different pages. Though they both perform the same basic functions.
Screenshot_20190703-122016.png

REDMOON has a beautiful design, with a globe icon design for its regulators which are:

• Color

• Opacity

• Darkness
Screenshot_20190703-121811.png
The regulators selects the degree of blue light removal. They give the final dull outlook that displays all over the phone. My phone looks light reddish, with the brightness lowered. The intensity /color of the shade is made with the regulators. The app also has the dark mode theme, something I always look out for in most apps.

Although, Eye care is also a gorgeous application. The app not only dominates in its aesthetic properties but also in its features. It has up to 27 color theme styles for beautifying the app outlook.
Screenshot_20190703-122033.png

Redmoon has a red colored display with which it’s intensity is regulated. But Eye care has 32 color options to choose from. It’s no wonder infinix chose it as a stock application for one if it’s phone series.
Screenshot_20190703-122047.png

Looking at both apps, it’s quite unfair comparing Redmoon to Eye care with their user interface. Although, REDMOON gains a plus in having a dark mode theme by my standards. A property that seems to be missing in Eye Care’s user interface.

FEATURES

Most of Redmoon features is found in the user interface section. This is because the app itself is more of a user interface based app. Other few features I’d be reviewing includes;

• Custom profiles

• Time Schedule

• Pause in Excluded apps

Custom profiles

Sometimes I like my screen very dark at night, sometimes brighter. The custom profiles allow me to save different shade parameters. I already created one for myself, which I named “cuteflames”. Though, the app came with two preset profiles(dim only and reading). The developer recommends these two profiles. But I still feel a little eye strain when I use the “dim only” profile. And the “reading” profile is a bit too reddish for me. Hence the “cuteflames” profile I created.
Screenshot_20190703-121848.png

In comparison, Eye care has over 32 color shades with which it’s intensity can be varied. I hope Redmoon adds more color option because I seem to prefer the brown color filter in eye care app.

Time Schedule

Screenshot_20190703-121912.png

This feature has been helpful. I don’t need to activate or deactivate the app when it’s night or day. It does it automatically with the time frame I entered in the parameters. Though it came with the sunrise and sunset default feature, I do not know the time frame it operates. Maybe because I haven’t tried it yet. I went straight to customizing my time frame. Now, as soon as its dark at 7 pm, the app auto activates. And when it is 6 am, it deactivates. This feature is unique to REDMOON only as I could not find it in Eyecare.

Pause in Excluded Apps

Screenshot_20190703-121929.png
This feature allows you to select certain apps you don’t want REDMOON to draw over. Whenever you use any of the selected apps, Redmoon deactivates. I wanted to try out the feature because I wouldn’t want Redmoon to draw over my camera app. But the app requires certain permission I felt skeptical about giving. It requires the permission to track other apps along with other unspecified details. Eye care doesn’t need much permission access. The only one I encountered required access to my notification area. Eye care acts as a stock application on my phone. It doesn’t stay in the running apps tray whenever I close it.

SUMMARY

In this review, I’ve been able to share my own experience, using the redmoon app. And comparing it with a more advanced app (Eye care). Although, REDMOON actualizes its primary function. (inhibiting the blue light from being emitted from our phones). It also has some improvements that needs to be made. Some improvements like the addition of other color filters, to give users a wide range of options. I’ll try sending some of my suggestions via the Github repository so they can be added if accepted. So, if you want to reduce eye strain resulting from the bright light of your phone, Redmoon or Eye Care are great apps to try out.

Thanks for reading!

LINKS SECTION

• Github repository: https://github.com/LibreShift/red-moon
• Download link: https://github.com/raatmarien/red-moon/releases

RESOURCES

The content of this post was created based on my knowledge of the project, and mostly from my experience. The images used in this article are screenshots from my mobile phone. Other images used, have their source links provided just below them

GITHUB PROFILE

https://github.com/cuteflames

Sort:  

Hello, @cuteflames!

Thank you for this detailed review. It is true that staring at a screen for a long time reduces the concentration of melatonin naturally produced in your system, so I do understand the need for such an application. I appreciate the information you have provided us with.

On the content side, I like all the information provided. The post contains valuable information about the project itself, as well as your personal views and thoughts, and I think that you did a really good job of highlighting the key features of the application. I also appreciate the fact that you went the extra mile and provided an extensive comparison with Eye Care, and it goes without saying that I enjoyed reading your work.

However, the post did have minor issues of style and proofreading, and I will cite a few examples:

The first time I used it, I noticed I no longer have teary eyes.

This sentence should read: "The first time I used it, I noticed I no longer had teary eyes."

In comparison, Eye care has over 32 color shades with which it’s intensity can be varied.

This one should read: "In comparison, Eye care has over 32 color shades with which its intensity can be varied."

To summarize, this is a very interesting review, but also one that would have benefited from another round of proofreading. I look forward to your next one.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @lordneroo! Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @cuteflames! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.
You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @cuteflames!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @cuteflames!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Hi, @cuteflames!

You just got a 0.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31