You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proofreading SteemConnect: Feedback for Translating Eng- Spanish

I know what you mean about using . I was translating using since you had it on your translation. But then I realized it was not a decision you had made, otherwise you would not have used usted as well. And there is nothing to dislike about usted. Indeed, the documents I translate only use for children.

Analyzing a little the difference in this matter
When we talk, we use . As for usted, some years ago we would never use when talking to older people (And this still holds true for many people). Internet has made us write what we say, and we fail to pay attention to a great deal of things. Furthermore, many pages try to be more friendly and use : "Inicia sesión," "Regístrate," and "Haz click aquí" become commonplace (So wrong considering it's "clic" in Spanish, not click). You can also blame it on marketing!

But the fact that many people do something does not mean it's right. I believe SteemIt and SteemConnect are pages that should convey respect; therefore, usted. Usted does not only mean "I respect you," it also means "Respect me" - Otherwise Steemcleaners will hunt you to oblivion. 😄
....
"Respect me" because I am not a seller, I'm an institution: I won't take your money. Trust me because I deserve to be trusted, not because I want to be your friend and earn your trust using kind words. Microsoft usted "usted" (check Office 2007); and they have changed things into "tú" (Windows 10). I just feel they want Cortana and Microsoft to be my friends: They won't!

If you still want to use , I still believe you are entitled to make that choice.



My English is a little... haha. I know. I hardly ever write using English (And I would only translate a very specific type of documents into English). I was going to write in Spanish. But it didn't feel right. I felt English was more appropriate... And I also thought I should be a more active user of English.

So many years translating only into Spanish... Well, you know.

Sort:  

Steem, and all the world of crypocurrencies, are revolutionary, created to be exactly the opposite of traditional way to do things. Using "tú" makes it personal and modern.

.. and older people don't want to be called as "Usted", you know it when you are old, or starting to be one.

Well, that's your point of view. And I know it is not only yours - many many many people would agree. Current trend is "tú." I wonder if that would change eventually.

Older people don't want to be called as "Usted" when it's a friend, a family friend, or even an acquaintance. It is certainly shocking when a girl on her 20s says: "Señor, ¿qué hora tiene?" However, it is OK. "Disculpe, ¿qué hora tiene?"

And not only older perople, but even teenagers would be pleased when hearing: "¿A dónde quiere que le lleve?" or "¿Qué gusta ordenar?"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64133.95
ETH 3172.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57