Adding docker support for Steem price feed

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)


I saw this this cool project by @yabapmatt. It is really cool to get the price from 3 exchanges. I particularly like the failover between the different RPC nodes. My price feed has been unreliable the last couple of weeks.

So I decided to add support for docker. Why? That is how I am used to fire my witness node or price feed. I like to setup a docker without going through the installation of different programs, the updates,

New Features

So I made a small update to the project to start the right function through the docker:

"scripts": {
    "test": "echo \"Error: no test specified\" && exit 1",
    "start": "node feed.js startProcess"
  },

I added the nodejs dockerfile:

FROM node:6-onbuild

I also updated the Readme to give the commands to fire the price feed:

docker build -t pricefeed .
docker run -itd --rm --name pricefeed pricefeed

# Check the status with docker logs
docker logs pricefeed

This of course assume that you have already installed docker on your system.

You can find the pull request there:

https://github.com/MattyIce/pricefeed/pull/1

My price feed has been running flawlessly for the last days. It hasn't crashed yet. I am pretty happy about that :-).



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Your contribution cannot be approved because it is not as informative as other contributions. See the Utopian Rules. Contributions need to be informative and descriptive in order to help readers and developers understand them.

Hello, currently this is not acceptable because it is considered too-small contribution. However, in the future, when utopian has implemented a slider, this may be accepted.

Thanks

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

yeah of course. But since it served me and it got merged I decide to do the exercise of pushing through utopian.

Thanks for the review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53