SteemMultiTagSearch Update #2 : A Steem multi-tag search engine

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

steemMTS_logo.png

What is the project about?

SteemMultiTagSearch the first Steem search engine that works with multiple tags.

Just type the tags separated by commas and click search on the web-app to fetch the recent Steem articles that matches the tags.

Everything was designed and think to be as simple as possible for the user.


New features

I've made some improvements on this new version at many levels.

1. Design improvements

On the first version the website had a very basic design.

First, I've added some logos on the first page.
First page

Then many changes were made on the result page :

  • All results are displayed in an array
  • The first picture of the article is added to the result
  • The beginning of each article in shown

display


2. Search preferences

Before the number of results were fixed, now you can choose the number of results you want to display by clicking on the arrow next to the search button.
number_results

If you don't choose a number of results, the fixed number will be 20.


3. Some securities

I added two types of error messages :

  • If there is no result for your search the website won't return an error anymore, now it'll print a message to let you know that the tags you choose don't return any results.
    error_tags


  • If there is no connection with SteemData the website will now print an error message letting you know that SteemData service in not available.
    error_steemdata

4. Build my own database

Thanks to my last Utopian post I've been able to rent a Kimsufi server with a big data storage in order to build my own database. I've succeed to use sbds and store all the database with mysql.
Kimsufi

But Mysql is maybe not the best way to do it (regarding the performances in a such big amount of data), so I'm currently trying to make sbds work with mongoDB.

Also this server will soon be used to host the app and buy a domain name for it.


Presentation GIF

Here is a little gif, showing you how does the website works.

ezgif.com-optimize (4).gif


What are the technologies used ?

This app was coded using Node.JS for the back-end and Express for the web rendering.

MongoDB to access steemdata.com database .

Web app : https://steemmts.herokuapp.com

Github repo : https://github.com/RenaudHeitz/cryptofrench.github.io


Future plans

These are the next features I'll work on :

  • Add sorting methods (ex: date or author)
  • Host on a dedicated server
  • Buy a domain name
  • Build my own database using Mongodb

Contact

You can contact me on my discord -> @CryptoFrench#1833

Or on twitter : @cryptofrench


Disclaimer

I use a free account to host the app on Heroku, so sometimes there are few downtime. If the app doesn't work for you, try to reload the page and it should work. Thank you



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @cryptofrench I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Utopian Witness!

Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Awesome work ! Thanks !

For usability purposes, the search bar needs to be above that really large (relatively large) set of logos.

Always think about why someone is there to use your site, and give them that first. If they don't know who you are, how did they find your site? And if they do know who you are and what their therefore, they don't need the logos.

As it stands, all that graphics load really does is slow down loading in every browser and take up valuable real estate at the top of a mobile browser's frame.

That is probably not the best.

Thank you for your feedback.

I've never seen it this way, and yes I totally agree.
I'll see how I can make it simpler and put the main purpose in first place :)

Thank you for your wise advices !

Thank you for your contribution.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io.
Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you guys for the utopian platform :)

Hi @crytofrench, this doesn't work anymore. Are you planning to rework the website using dsteem's api? Else, I might have an idea to build a multi tags search website from scratch =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69