Sort:  

The main motivation was I had it working and one day they decided to remove the API version I was using. So I decided I should try not to rely so much on a single point of failure. Another thing is, early in the life of Steem Connect's current API users had to provide their active key. Now you can sign into directly to Steemfiles using any key or master password. People don't seem concerned about putting their active keys into SC, however.

Ah, I remember, the v1->v2 transition in SteemConnect. Not requiring the active key is a good argument. However, I think plain login verification is also possible via SC with only the posting key. minnowbooster.net does that for example.

DTube allows login with the posting key but in that case you are sending the posting key to the DTube webpage. I don't think they ever prove to their servers that you are logged in there. It probably only checks things client side (I guess it only needs that). The keys are only used for interacting with the blockchain in that case.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97