Sort:  

Hey @crokkon I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 50% Power!

Suggestions https://utopian.io/rules

  • Your contribution is less informative than others in this category.
  • Utopian has detected 1 bot votes. I am the only bot you should love!!

Achievements

  • Oh I love when we talk about data!
  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift ;)
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!
    Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Hi @crokkon, i do like this post. It has made me think about my aproach of naming in my posts and i am still on the fence.

You see the blockchain is open so really anyone can go and look for them selves, if i didnt add names then exceptional steemains would not get that extra attention they deserve

Also on steemit it is up to the community to decide that is right or wrong for the platform and this is shown by votes and flags. By not giving names or a post link i would be removing the choice of action. What use is information with out the ability to act

It would be good to hear the communities views on this, as maybe i am the only one that thinks that way

Hi @paulag, I was thinking for quite a while if and how to post the findings. I must admit I feel unsure how to properly handle such situations. We're all human, how big is the chance I messed up an analysis step? The blockchain doesn't forget. I still feel somehow "new" here, am I in the position to expose others? If the analysis is correct, will I risk my reputation? Will I get an audience or look like a fool? Assuming I get support from the community on the findings, what will actually happen? Will sb. downvote like 800-1000 posts/day?
In this specific case, I found it super fascinating to see clear patterns in the blockchain data and not knowing most of the account names myself. That makes me hope that some kind of automated analysis could be possible. With a level of support from utopian, which I would have never dreamed of, I think it was the right decision in this case not to use this platform to expose names. But I agree that this doesn't (directly) help with this specific network and leaves the community no ability to act (on this case). I'd also be happy to hear other opinions!

"Bots or news bots in general are IMO also not the real problem here, even tough I personally would look for recent news more on dedicated news sites or maybe on twitter or reddit, not on steemit."

Could you explain why? As an Steemian this information is valuable. When I browse reddit worldnews, the posts contain only the link. So, first step to get people to visit some Steem app rather than reddit, is to have the links here. The discussion hopefully follows. We need Steem the blockchain to serve all kinds of needs. Not just bloggers. One could argue that there's minimal value added by these bots, but they're bringing the links here and I'd say that's worth something. The rest is up to curators to bring up the gems to the eyes of majority of users, just like in Reddit.

And we have to knowledge the fact that Steemit shows all posts, made through all other frontends/apps that live in the same blockchain. Maybe in future we'll have a Steem site just focused on sharing links.

Thanks for your comment! I think we have to distinguish between the steem blockchain and the interfaces/apps like steemit/busy/... like you say.
The blockchain enables all kind of content, and I agree to your points that it can do all that. That's what zappl/steepshot/dtube/utopian and others are doing right now. One might argue if a 75%/25% share of author/curator reward is appropriate for each type, but in principle this can all be handled with the same blockchain.
For the interfaces/apps the vast majority of posts currently come from steemit.com, the share from other apps is rather small (see my previous post if you're interested in numbers). I myself also mainly use steemit. On steemit all post types are (mostly) shown in the same way. I'm following a few hundred accounts that publish in a blog-like manner maybe once a day, mostly more infrequently. With high frequency news/link posts in between I simply would miss blog posts. That's the reason I'm currently not using steemit for news/links. This could indeed be handled with a separate app, but then the steemit feed becomes pretty crowded. I think steemit at some point has to adjust to different content types, maybe something like separate home feeds for different apps or categories, to remain usable as a generic steem interface.

Yes. A filter will be soon needed for Steemit.

It would be interesting to see if the majority of upvotes are coming near the end of the 7 day payout window in an attempt to avoid detection and downvotes.

That's an interesting aspect, thanks! I haven't looked into voting time vs. post creation time in this study so I can't tell right now.

Thank you for shear very impotent info

I know when I signed up for this platform, I had high hopes. I am the type of person I dont post on facebook, instagram, and twitter. As a matter a fact I dont even use facebook or instagram and I only use twitter for news. This is the only platform I take time out of my day to post my thoughts on. Sure the reason is so I can grow my steem, but I also like the idea of rewarding those making positive post and replies. Come on steem team get on top of this.

A very thorough analysis as always!!

I noticed this weird pattern but didn't know what to make of it. Thanks for the information!

Resteemed and Upvoted by @resteemable
loading.gif
Resteemit.com By-donation Upvote & Resteem Service
Works on Any Steemit Article. Join the Trail

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

[utopian-moderator]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23