Minnow Avatar Generator Proposal

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

minnow_avatar_OPTIONS_800px.png

Hi all, take a look at my proposal for the Minnow Avatar Generator requested by @wearecodex.

In total, I created 4 options for each body part, and some extras, just for fun. The image above shows some of the new possible combinations.

I've been out of touch from Steemit for a while due to my freelancing gigs and life getting in the way, but I'm back! I really missed being in touch with you!

So, let me show you what I did this time.

Details

First of, I based my designs mostly in my own recollection of fishes from scuba diving, but mainly I used my imagination, especially for the crests.

I loved creating these quirky illustrations, even though it took me forever to come up with body parts in the same style as the original. I spent most of the time aligning the parts together. I can only hope my method worked out.

The steps for this project involved:

  1. Creating the artboards to match the final size 256 x 256px for each new part
  2. Using the base design body parts to get the location of each part of the avatar
  3. Creating guidelines to position the body parts
  4. Creating a color palette that would match the base design. I decided to use bright, saturated colors in secondary colors: greens, oranges/yellows, and violets and I think they looked pretty good along with the original.

Process

These screenshots show my process. I had to do a lot of micro-adjustments to match the base design. The first drawings changed quite a bit after the base crest didn't fit the fins, and so on...This was really challenging, I'm not gonna lie, but I finally did it.

screen2.png

screen3.png

screen4.png

screen5.png

screen6.png

Some of the things that helped with the consistency of the designs was maintaining the original proportions and a stroke-width consistency.

Overall, the style is flat and cartoony. I added a bit more of expressiveness and colors to make the minnow look more lively.

Benefits / Improvements

This design system will introduce several improvements to the current generator:

  • Possibility to emote different expressions with the avatar, such as happiness, sadness, surprise, endearment or irritation
  • Variety of colors and combinations, which translates in more interest and curiosity from the user
  • Possibilities to expand from this system to other avatars

Tools

I used Adobe Illustrator for this project.

Original files

Located HERE, the folder contains:

  • PNG files of the body parts
  • Source files in vector (Adobe Illustrator CS5 and above) for body parts and combinations

They are much more organized and polished than the screenshots. I cleaned them up at the end.

Thank you @wearecodex for this awesome opportunity. Let me know what you think and if you need the source files.

Thank you all for making it to this point. I will be posting more design and creative projects soon. If you enjoyed this post, or you want to know more about it, let me know in the comments below.

Enjoy the rest of your day!



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hi! Thank you so much for your hard work! they all match very well! :D This can be accepted :)
Also please contact us on discord for further talk in case you would like to contribute with another project :) https://discord.gg/VC3WkqY

Awesome! I'm very happy this can be accepted. I hope it gets approved. Source files have been uploaded to the same link. I'm definitely interested in contributing to more projects, so, thanks for the invite to the discord channel. I'll swing around. Thank you!

thanks so much for your hard work!=) This will be added to the page once the ask is closed.

Hey @creativista I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Great! Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Creativista from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18