Steemit Reputation and Profile Bug

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

image.png

I noticed this bug about 2 weeks ago after the steemd.steemit.com RPC Node was retired. Aside from the many other bugs and issues that came up, this one continues to be an issue and has been a question/concern I have been asked about on a daily basis by some of the community members that I support.

I wanted to post an a bug report and update for all to see and to ease some of the concern that some users may have.

What is Expected

Features that most people are proud of are their profiles and their reputation and most have worked hard to establish and create these 2 aspects of their Steemit profile. When a user visits another users Steemit profile, they will see a customized graphic heading, avatar, and information about the user including their current Reputation.

We can use mine for example:

image.png

What is the Issue

I'm not sure when it started exactly, but I started noticing this bug, the day when the steemd.steemit.com RPC Node was retired. It has continued to this day to be a question that users in my communities ask me and have concerns about.

This header above and its contents should remain anytime you click on the links in a users profile, however, now when you click on the wallet link and view yours or any users wallet, the entire profile is reset. The user's Reputation score is (25), The header graphic is gone, some of the profile details are missing, and the avatar is gone - as seen below

image.png

This can be disconcerning to most people given how hard they may have worked on their profile and building their reputation.

What's going on and how to address

I just want to make sure and let everyone know that there is nothing to be concerned about. This is an annoyance, but your reputation score and profile details have not been affected. You haven't lost anything.

A simple refresh of the page will restore your profile and settings.

Although there is no negative impact that I have found or am aware of, this is still a bug that needs to be addressed. It is simply something that is a nuisance.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

I thought nobody really notice this bug. Good thing you bought this up @cloh74

It bugs me every time I check my wallet for transactions :D

I've always thought it was because of my laggy internet connection, turns out it really is a bug

Yep. Unfortunately.

It used to give me a mini heart attack earlier, but not anymore. I am used to it now.
Not sure if this is the right platform, but I see my blogs or resteemed posts twice in the eSteem app. This happens occasionally though.
Many more issues I have found in the app. Waiting for the right platform to report.

I would just make a post about it. The more noise you make, the greater chance for bugs to be addressed! :)

You can also make a direct bug report in Github or Utopian-io!

Sure, probably I'll make a post. Can get more issues other users might have come across. Then log bugs in Github.

I saw this a couple of weeks ago and also posted about it.
Nothing much happen since.
FYI, last word has a typo :-)

I used to correct typos in my posts but later read a post suggesting to prevent editing a post. It reduces the bandwidth. How true is that ?

Hmmm... I've always corrected typos or grammar in mine when I spot them.
I remember once doing even more than 5 updates.
Then come to think of it what you mention could be right though I'll probably still continue to correct. :-) The reason I think you may be right is because I read unvoting does not give you back the power. So, if you upvote with an unintended percentage and wants to change to unvote and revote, it uses your power more times. One time i have upvoted some relatively new user, I had to unvote and then downvote the post. LOL

Haha. Don't have the control to decide the vote weight yet, but yesterday I noticed that my bandwidth had exausted. I never spam. I hardly write 2 posts a week. Bandwidth allocation for higher reputation might be higher, but for minnows like me it matters.

Keep working hard. Many of us were struggling in our early days to find our style. :-)

I appreciate the feedback and typo-catches. It just makes me a better writer. We can all use help improving and refining our styles!

Cool. I just saw your post as well. Thanks for the catch!

You're welcome

Your contribution cannot be approved because it is a duplicate. It is very similar to a contribution that was already accepted here.
Also Here
Welcome to Utopian community great post. But unfortunately, I have to reject.
The maintainers are working on a fix, yes this bug is quite annoying to me too :)
You can contact us on Discord.
utopian-moderator

Thanks @sachincool. No issues. I just wanted to get the post out to all of my followers as well since many are still asking about it.

Thanks for the support!

Nice, i like your reply :D i'll upvote you and follow you. i know this bug is troublesome. but there are many high priority bugs taking more of developer's time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49